Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Spike Kohlbecker wins at Brands Hatch as National FF1600 leader Ross Martin struggles

Spike Kohlbecker wins at Brands Hatch as National FF1600 leader Ross Martin struggles

by Bethonie Waring

Spike Kohlbecker won the first BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 race at Brands Hatch Indy in mixed conditions, as championship leader Ross Martin struggled.

Cliff Dempsey Racing?s Kohlbecker spent most of the race battling for position at the front, though not a lap went past where he wasn?t under pressure.

The American took second place off the line, as poleman Rory Smith fell backwards. New leader Neil Maclennan and Kohlbecker ran nose-to-tail for a number of laps, and swapped positions, before the latter managed to make a move stick.

They were eventually joined by the recovering Smith and Kohlbecker?s team-mate Jonathan Browne, before a excursion into the gravel dropped Browne down the order.

Smith was briefly able to reclaim the lead heading into Paddock Hill Bend ? dropping Kohlbecker back into second ? before the B-M Racing driver dropped two wheels into the gravel.

Kohlbecker and MacLennan remained in battle through the final laps of the 15 minute race, but MacLennan couldn?t find a way past and Kohlbecker came through to take his second win of the season.

Oldfield Motorsport?s Aaron Jeansonne had a clean race and took his first podium in third.

Points leader Martin endured the opposite race to rival Kohlbecker. The Team Dolan driver started alongside Kohlbecker on the second row but had a poor opening lap and then span at Druids, dropping him to 14th.

He was able to continue but struggled to make up ground. Although he recovered to 10th, that was aided by a number of incidents ahead of him.

Dolan team-end Jamie Sharp had been running at the sharp end through most of the race, and set fastest lap, but a penultimate lap spin put him at the back of the field. He limped back around the track before returning his Van Diemen to the pits.

The third Dolan car of Adam Quatermaine also retired after an off early in the race.

CDR?s James Clarke finished fourth, ahead of Smith and Browne. Morgan Quinn was the top rookie in seventh for Dolan, ahead of Clubman class winner Max Marzorati.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing 15m22.559s
2 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing +0.610s
3 Aaron Jeansonne Oldfield Motorsport +1.182s
4 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +2.130s
5 Rory Smith B-M Racing +3.361s
6 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing +6.991s
7 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +8.278s
8 Max Marzorati Team Dolan +21.663s
9 Jamie Thorburn Border Reivers +22.257s
10 Ross Martin Team Dolan +22.588s
11 Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing +25.826s
12 Jason Down Getem Racing +26.123s
13 Henry Chart Oldfield Motorsport +27.409s
14 Scott Huntley Kevin Mills Racing +36.165s
15 Nicole Woods B-M Racing +1 lap
Ret Jamie Sharp Team Dolan
Ret Adam Quartermaine Team Dolan
Pole: Smith, 1m01.674s? ? ? Fastest lap: Sharp, 1m00.050s

Championship Standings
Pro? ?1?Martin 321? ?2?Kohlbecker 298? ?3 Maclennan 284? ?4?Clarke 229? ?5 Smith 201? ?6 Browne 172? ?7 Sharp 151? ?8 Macpherson 120? ?9 Quinn 115? ?10 Brendon Leigh 112