Home Featured Kiko Porto wins USF2000’s 400th race at Indianapolis

Kiko Porto wins USF2000’s 400th race at Indianapolis

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

DEForce Racing’s Kiko Porto took his second USF2000 win in the category’s 400th race in a tense battle with Exclusive Autosport’s Christian Brooks at Indianapolis.

Porto started sixth and climbed up to fourth on the opening lap. The start of the 20-lap race was relatively clean until the field got to Turn 4. There, contact between Jay Howard Driver Development’s Bijoy Garg, Turn 3 Motorsport’s Dylan Christie and Force Indy’s Miles Rowe eliminated all three on the spot.

On top of that, Exclusive’s Grant Palmer and Legacy Autosport’s Simon Sikes sustained significant enough damage for them all to retire at the end of the opening tour. DEForce’s Nolan Siegel also had to pit but was able to continue.

When the race was restarted after five laps, polesitter Yuven Sundaramoorthy was beaten by Brooks on the run down to the first turn, while Porto overhauled Pabst Racing’s Josh Pierson for third.

Porto then proceeded to get past Pabst’s Sundaramoorthy and then Brooks on successive laps.

Brooks was able to come back to Porto but was unable to make a move stick. It is the Brazilian driver’s second win in the championship and his first of 2021, having won at the end of last season at St. Petersburg.

Brooks took second but Cape Motorsport’s Michael d’Orlando mugged the squabbling Pabst duo on the final lap to snatch the final spot on the podium, forcing Sundaramoorthy onto the grass into the penultimate braking zone of the lap, relegating him to fifth behind Pierson.

Cape’s Thomas Nepveu came out on top of a good scrap for sixth ahead of Prescott Campbell (DEForce), Spike Kohlbecker (Ignite Autosport) and Josh Green (Turn 3), with Jackson Lee (JHDD) rounding out the top 10.

After pitting for repairs, Siegel was able to recover to 15th after dropping to 21st. Exclusive’s Matt Round-Garrido was the race’s other retiree, having pulled off the circuit after receiving a drive-through penalty for blocking while racing around Siegel.

Race results (20 laps)
Pos Name Team Time/Gap
1 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 34m55.4642s
2 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport +0.4525s
3 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +4.8539s
4 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing +5.0368s
5 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +6.1274s
6 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports +7.8244s
7 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing +8.3788s
8 Spike Kohlbecker Ignite Autosports w/Cape Motorsports +8.7779s
9 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport +9.1572s
10 Jackson Lee Jay Howard Driver Development +13.1540s
11 Erik Evans Velocity Racing Development +13.8597s
12 Michael Myers Michael Myers Racing +14.3290s
13 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport +15.0040s
14 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing +15.8896s
15 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing +16.0406s
16 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing +18.1710s
17 Peter Vodanovich Jay Howard Driver Development +21.3667s
18 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +24.2383s
19 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports +24.8091s
20 Evan Stamer Ignite Autosports w/Cape Motorsports +24.9264s
21 Matt Round-Garrido Exclusive Autosport Retired
22 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport Retired
23 Grant Palmer Exclusive Autosport Retired
24 Myles Rowe Force Indy Retired
25 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport Retired
26 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development Retired
Fastest lap: Sundaramoorthy, 1m25.1401s

Championship standings
Brooks 163   2 Sundaramoorthy 149   Porto 141   3 Pierson 132   5 d’Orlando 120   6 Campbell 100   7 Kohlbecker 96   Green 90   9 Nepveu 85   10 Frazer 73