Home Formula 3GB3 Kaylen Frederick takes his first British F3 win at Spa

Kaylen Frederick takes his first British F3 win at Spa

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Carlin?s Kaylen Frederick beats Ayrton Simmons to victory in the first BRDC Formula 3 race at Spa Francorchamps.

The two swapped places twice during the race, with Frederick briefly snatching the lead with a move at Les Combes on lap four, only for poleman Simmons to pull off a near-identical move the following lap.

Simmons was unable to shake Frederick, and the two were joined by Neil Verhagen and Manuel Maldonado in the fight at the front of the field.

Frederick managed to get past Simmons again on the penultimate lap and built up a lead of 0.8 seconds before the chequered flag.

Maldonado passed Verhagen in the closing stages of the race, before Verhagen was forced to pit and drop to the back of the field.

The Fortec Motorsports driver tried to challenge Simmons, having already dispatched Ulysse de Pauw and championship leader Clement Novalak on his way to third, but ran out of laps before he could make a move stick. Novalak took fourth, extending his lead at the top of the standings to 39 points.

Kiern Jewiss and Hampus Ericsson finished fifth and sixth, ahead of de Pauw, Jonathan Hoggard, and Lucas Petersson, who dropped back on the opening lap after qualifying second.


Race results (9 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 21m08.652s
2 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +0.864s
3 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +1.489s
4 Clement Novalak Carlin +2.098s
5 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +3.648s
6 Hampus Ericsson Double R Racing +7.280s
7 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +7.679s
8 Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports +7.894s
9 Lucas Petersson Carlin +9.012s
10 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +9.732s
11 Nico Varrone Hillspeed +10.077s
12 Benjamin Pedersen Douglas Motorsport +11.365s
13 Kris Wright Fortec Motorsports +11.894s
14 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +19.333s
15 Andreas Estner Lanan Racing +19.844s
16 Nazim Azman Chris Dittmann Racing +20.808s
17 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +21.308s
18 Neil Verhagen Double R Racing +45.769s
Fastest lap: Ericsson, 2m19.729s

Championship Standings
?Novalak 312? ?2 Hoggard 273? ?3 Simmons 239? ?4?Maldonado 196? ?5?Frederick 193? ?6?De Pauw 186? ?7?Verhagen 179? ?8?Ericsson 171? ?9?Jewiss 167? ?10?Chaimongkol 147