Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Juri Vips on top on first day of Misano European F3 test

Juri Vips on top on first day of Misano European F3 test

by Tim Lumb

VipsJuri Vips set the fastest time during the first day of the Formula 3 European Championship test at Misano, with 20 other drivers being within one second of the Motopark racer.

Vips was?just one of two drivers to set their fastest lap of the day during the morning session alongside his Motopark team-mate Jonathan Aberdein, who was fifth fastest overall during the day.

The top three times during the day were set by drivers at three different teams, with Hitech’s Alex Palou setting the fastest time during the afternoon session and Prema’s Ralf Aron in third.

In the afternoon session, the top five were separated by under one-tenth of a second, with Mick Schumacher just 0.001 seconds behind his Prema team-mate. Vips?placed fourth in the afternoon, while Sacha Fenestraz was the highest placed Carlin driver in sixth overall.

Prema arguably had the most success during day one of testing. Alongside Aron and Schumacher, Marcus Armstrong and Guan Yu Zhou made it into the top 10 overall, placing seventh and ninth respectively. The pair were separated by Jehan Daruvala for Carlin in eighth?place.

The only Prema driver outside of the top 10 was Robert Shwartzman, who missed out by?0.003s to Motopark’s Daniel Ticktum.

The same couldn’t be said for Carlin, with four of their six drivers outside of the top 15.

The highest placed driver for Van Amersfoort Racing was Artem Petrov in 13th overall, although Petrov was still within 0.35s of Vips’ fastest lap.

Day one combined times
Pos Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Juri Vips Motopark 1:27.553 (lap 38/40) 1:27.709
2 Alex Palou Hitech 1:28.102 1:27.622
3 Ralf Aron Prema 1:27.914 1:27.663
4 Mick Schumacher Prema 1:27.671 1:27.664
5 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark 1:27.685 1:27.816
6 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin 1:27.723 1:27.700
7 Marcus Armstrong Prema 1:27.997 1:27.737
8 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1:27.837 1:27.769
9 Guan Yu Zhou Prema 1:28.235 1:27.782
10 Daniel Ticktum Motopark 1:28.173 1:27.785
11 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1:27.828 1:27.788
12 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark 1:28.382 1:27.824
13 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing 1:28.326 1:27.903
14 Marino Sato Motopark 1:28.554 1:27.909
15 Fabio Scherer Nitioarj 1:28.446 1:28.020
16 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 1:28.150 1:28.076
17 Ben Hingeley Hitech 1:28.420 1:28.088
18 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin 1:28.481 1:28.162
19 Devlin DeFrancesco Carlin 1:28.672 1:28.236
20 Enaam Ahmed Hitech 1:28.836 1:28.458
21 Sophia Florsch Van Amersfoort Racing 1:29.295 1:28.503
22 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 1:28.723 1:28.575
23 Julian Hanses Ma-con 1:29.343 1:28.698
24 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing 1:29.844 1:28.789