Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Joel Eriksson wins again in wet second race at Spa

Joel Eriksson wins again in wet second race at Spa

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Gruppe C GmbH / ADAC F4

Photo: Gruppe C GmbH / ADAC F4

Motopark’s Joel Eriksson has continued to sweep the ADAC F4 round at Spa-Francorchamps, winning the second race of the weekend.

Eriksson has now won four of the last five races and will move further ahead in the lead of the standings.

On a very damp track, the Swede got a solid launch off the line, as did Robert Shwartzman, who moved up from fourth on the grid to an early second.

Prema’s Ralf Aron, who had started on the front row alongside Eriksson, briefly retook the spot from Shwartzman, but ran wide after completing the move and undid his progress.

Aron was then also overtaken by Shwartzman’s teammate and series newcomer Lando Norris.

The Briton then attempted to dive past Shwartzman into La Source, but the Russian maintained momentum on exit and retook the position into Eau Rouge.

All the fighting allowed the pacesetting Eriksson to stretch his lead to five seconds in just three laps, but when Marylin Niederhauser spun off and got stuck on the grass, the resulting safety car eliminated the Swede’s advantage.

At the restart, Eriksson quickly established a lead of a second, while Norris finally overtook Shwartzman for good.

The race leader then suddenly began to struggle for pace, allowing Norris to close in, with the Briton eyeing a debut victory.

He’d come closest to making a pass into Bus Stop on the penultimate lap, briefly going side-by-side with Eriksson but yielding on corner exit.

Next time by, the duo took the chequered flag half a second apart, while Shwartzman and Aron followed in third and fourth.

Harri Newey fought his way up to fifth after the restart and then managed to hold off Marvin Dienst over the final minutes.

Joseph Mawson took seventh, ahead of Janneau Esmeijer, Marek Bockmann and Mattia Drudi.

Ferrari protege Guan Yu Zhou, who claimed a podium finish yesterday, spun in Eau Rouge on the opening lap and then retired after contact with Tim Zimmermann after the restart.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Joel Eriksson Motopark 11 laps in 31:11.293
2 Lando Norris Mucke Motorsport +0.547
3 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +1.365
4 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +2.173
5 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +8.114
6 Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team +8.257
7 Joseph Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing +9.463
8 Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +11.639
9 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +17.045
10 Mattia Drudi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +18.263
11 David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +18.893
12 Jannes Fittje Motopark +28.807
13 Florian Janits Lechner Racing +29.589
14 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +29.637
15 Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing +30.162
16 Alain Valente Race Performance +32.491
17 Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +35.874
18 Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +37.291
19 Jason Kremer Team Timo Scheider +38.766
20 Michael Waldherr Motopark +39.422
21 Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +45.282
22 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +45.377
23 Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider +45.430
24 Toni Wolff Piro Sports +48.040
25 Mike Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +48.227
26 Job van Uitert Privateer +52.860
27 Arlind Hoti Jenzer Motorsport +53.646
28 Robin Brezina Privateer +53.884
29 Cedric Piro Piro Sports +54.899
30 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +1:10.193
31 Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +1:12.304
32 Michelle Halder Privateer +1:16.696
33 Carrie Schreiner HTP Junior Team +1:30.733
34 Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +1 lap
35 Glenn Rupp RS Competition +2 laps
Not classified
Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +6 laps
Guan Yu Zhou Prema Powerteam +6 laps
Marylin Niederhauser Race Performance +9 laps
Jan Jonck RS Competition +11 laps