Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Ocon and Tuscher excluded from sprint race, Fuoco gets grid penalty

Ocon and Tuscher excluded from sprint race, Fuoco gets grid penalty

by Gruz David
Photo: Alastair Staley/GP3 Media Service

Photo: Alastair Staley/GP3 Media Service

ART’s Esteban Ocon and Jenzer’s Matheo Tuscher have both been excluded from today’s GP3 sprint race at Spielberg.

Their third and sixth position have been taken away after their car was found to be non-conforming with the undertray height dimension regulations during scrutineering.

As a result, Luca Ghiotto inherited the final podium position, while Alex Fontana and Ralph Boschung are both promoted to point-scoring positions.

Ocon’s disqualification allows Kirchhofer to take the runner-up spot in the standings, 19 points behind leader Ghiotto.

Tuscher, on the other hand, sits with no points collected.

In addition, Antonio Fuoco received a three-place grid penalty for Silverstone for causing a collision with Jann Mardenborough and Sandy Stuvik.

Revised sprint race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Oscar Tunjo Trident 18 laps in 26:51.893
2 Marvin Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix +3.034
3 Luca Ghiotto Trident +4.093
4 Emil Bernstorff Arden International +5.394
5 Seb Morris Status Grand Prix +10.494
6 Alex Fontana Status Grand Prix +11.179
7 Matt Parry Koiranen GP +11.257
8 Ralph Boschung Jenzer Motorsport +14.686
9 Artur Janosz Trident +18.900
10 Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP +19.657
11 Mitch Gilbert Carlin +19.787
12 Adderly Fong Koiranen GP +19.940
13 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +20.255
14 Zaid Ashkanani Campos Racing +27.495
15 Alex Bosak Arden International +28.306
16 Samin Gomez Campos Racing +1 laps
Not classified
Sandy Stuvik Status Grand Prix +18 laps
Antonio Fuoco Carlin +18 laps
Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport +18 laps
Alex Palou Campos Racing +18 laps
Alfonso Celis ART Grand Prix +18 laps
DSQ Esteban Ocon ART Grand Prix
DSQ Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport
DNS Kevin Ceccon Arden International