Home Formula 3GB3 Jackson wins from 16th at drying Snetterton

Jackson wins from 16th at drying Snetterton

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Duo BRDC F4

Photo: Duo BRDC F4

Chris Dittmann Racing’s Tom Jackson took his maiden BRDC F4 victory in a mixed-conditions race at Snetterton.

Douglas Motorsport’s Akhil Rabindra lined up on pole after inheriting the ever-crucial eighth place in yesterday’s race, but it was Jordan Albert who jumped into the lead at the start.

By the end of lap one, the Sean Walkinshaw Racing driver would lead Rabindra by a second and a half, the Indian coming under pressure from Ciaran Haggerty.

The Scotsman worked his way around Rabindra on lap two and then made impressively quick work of Albert’s lead, passing him around the outside of T1 on lap four.

Behind them, Lanan Racing’s Rodrigo Fonseca soon overtook Rabindra and started to close on the leading duo.

With two minutes left on the clock, the Mexican was up into second, clearing Albert for the lead at Brundle.

And on the very same lap, he was into the lead past Haggerty.

However, with just one lap to go, yet another challenger for the lead popped up – Jackson, who gambled on slicks and ran superb lap times in these conditions and? was just a second and a half off at the line.

He cleared a dropping Haggerty and then dealt with Fonseca in the final sector to secure a stunning win – Chris Dittmann Racing’s second of the weekend.

Fonseca would settle for second, just narrowly keeping a charging Jack Bartholomew at bay, albeit his teammate had little reason to be upset, having claimed a maiden podium from penultimate on the grid.

Haggerty and Albert completed the top five, ahead of Chris Mealin and yesterday’s winner Omar Ismail.

Jack Lang, Ameya Vaidyanathan and Al Faisal Al Zubair completed the top ten.

A troubled race for usual frontrunners HHC saw Harri Newey, Sisa Ngebulana and points leader Will Palmer all end up outside of the top ten, the latter having to pit midway through the race.

Due to track conditions, however, Newey’s fastest lap from race one is more than sufficient to ensure his race three pole.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing 10 laps in 20:39.793
2 Rodrigo Fonseca Lanan Racing +0.893
3 Jack Bartholomew Lanan Racing +1.053
4 Ciaran Haggerty GBR/Ecurie Ecosse Young Driver +5.115
5 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +7.427
6 Chris Mealin Lanan Racing +11.437
7 Omar Ismail Chris Dittmann Racing +11.522
8 Jack Lang Lang Sport / Gorse Motors +11.754
9 Ameya Vaidyanathan Hillspeed +15.950
10 Al Faisal Al Zubair Hillspeed +18.832
11 Michael O’Brien MGR +19.688
12 Fernando Urrutia Douglas Motorsport +23.009
13 Akhil Rabindra Douglas Motorsport +27.626
14 Zubair Hoque Sean Walkinshaw Racing +28.505
15 Harrison Newey HHC Motorsport +28.607
16 James Reveler 23 Racing +32.568
17 Joe Stables JR Racing +52.156
18 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport +1:05.264
Not classified
Sisa Ngebulana HHC Motorsport +4 laps
Marc Gonz?lez Sean Walkinshaw Racing +7 laps