Home Formula FordFFord Festival Ivor McCullough earns Festival Final spot, controversy surrounds Peter Dempsey

Ivor McCullough earns Festival Final spot, controversy surrounds Peter Dempsey

by Rob Hansford

Ivor McCullough won the Last Chance Race to make the final of the Formula Ford Festival, while a previously disqualified Peter Dempsey failed to finish.

Team DDR’s McCullough had a strong start from pole, and despite a gearbox problem managed to stay clear at the front of the five-lap race, crossing the line 1.613 seconds ahead of B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp.

Sharp had started sixth, and carved his way through to second despite have having a moment on lap two when Don Hardman Racing’s Rick Morris defended hard ahead of him and he had to put two wheels on the grass on the outside of Surtees.

Ryan Campbell battled hard with Sharp for the remaining three laps, with the pair swapping positions.

Sharp’s team-mate Rory Smith had a great performance, making his way from 26th to secure fourth, while Team Canada scholar Jonathan Woolridge ended up fifth, ahead of Enigma Motorsport’s Jack Kemp, who secured the last available spot for the Festival final.

B-M’s James Hadfield just missed out in seventh, while Morris eventually finished in eighth after an eventful five laps in which he came under pressure from Dempsey.

A collision with Rory Smith led to Dempsey being disqualified from his semi-final, but he was allowed to start the Last Chance Race from the back of the grid. He’d made it up to 13th within a lap and had closed in on Morris to make a move on the Classic FF1600 champion coming out of Druids, but Morris defended hard, forcing Dempsey on to the grass.

Having taken a substantial amount of time to return to track, Dempsey then decided to pull off and end his race a lap early.

Colm Blackburn and Adam Fathers rounded out the top ten.

Richard Davison had been due to line up eighth on the grid, but failed to appear.


Race results (5 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Ivor McCullough Team DDR 4m25.912s
2 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +1.613s
3 Ryan Campbell +3.308s
4 Rory Smith B-M Racing +3.773s
5 Jonathan Woolridge Cliff Dempsey Racing +3.979s
6 Jack Kemp Enigma Motorsport +6.774s
7 James Hadfield B-M Racing +7.243s
8 Rick Morris Don Hardman Racing +7.755s
9 Colm Blackburn Motorsport Car Preparation +7.899s
10 Adam Fathers Adam Fathers Racing +8.032s
11 Bryce Aron Oldfield Motorsport +8.785s
12 David McCullough Team DDR +9.730s
13 Simon Hadfield Simon Hadfield Motorsport +9.772s
14 Jason Down Getem Racing +10.461s
15 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing +10.789s
16 Peter Hardman Snetterton Speedshop +11.118s
17 Andrew Blair +11.561s
18 Mark Armstrong ferret +12.095s
19 Kevan McLurg Racecar Warehouse +13.958s
20 Dan Rene Larsen +16.376s
Ret Peter Dempsey Cliff Dempsey Racing
Fastest lap: Smith, 50.998s