Home Formula 4French F4 Hubert secures double pole in final French F4 qualifying

Hubert secures double pole in final French F4 qualifying

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: DPPI

French F4 series champion Anthoine Hubert has kicked off the final round of the 2013 season at Circuit Paul Ricard with a strong display as he took double pole for the feature races.

The young Frenchman, who recently tested with Tech 1 Racing in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, spent most of the qualifying in the lead, briefly surrendering it to Tom Le Coq, whose time was then made void due to track limit infringements.

Despite a seemingly dominant display from Hubert, a number of drivers got close to first. Indeed, second-placed Felix Hirsiger set a time that was just 0.018s off pole, while Ivan Kostyukov trailed the Swiss driver by the very same margin in third place.

The closeness of the laptimes echoed all throughout the field. Dennis Anoschin and Neal van Vaerenbergh wound up separated by one thousandth of a second in fourth and fifth respectively, both finishing within a tenth off the pole time. Meanwhile, Le Coq and Matevos Isaakyan managed to record the exact same time and will start from sixth and seventh.

Remy Deguffroy, Jules Gounon and Tristan Viidas, who all made podium appearances in the previous round at Ledenon, made up the top ten.

On second-best times, which determine the grid for race one, Hubert will lead Kostyukov on the front row, ahead of Hirsiger and Anoschin.

Race grids
Pos. Race 1 Pos. Race 3
1 Anthoine Hubert 1 Anthoine Hubert
2 Ivan Kostyukov 2 Felix Hirsiger
3 Felix Hirsiger 3 Ivan Kostyukov
4 Dennis Anoschin 4 Dennis Anoschin
5 Neal van Vaerenbergh 5 Neal van Vaerenbergh
6 Tom Le Coq 6 Tom Le Coq
7 Matevos Isaakyan 7 Matevos Isaakyan
8 Jules Gounon 8 Remy Deguffroy
9 Remy Deguffroy 9 Jules Gounon
10 Tristan Viidas 10 Tristan Viidas
11 Marco de Peretti 11 Marco de Peretti
12 Amaury Rossero 12 Amaury Rossero
13 Simo Muhonen 13 Simo Muhonen
14 Kirill Karpov 14 Kirill Karpov
15 Amaury Richard 15 Amaury Richard
16 Severin Amweg 16 Severin Amweg
17 Sidhant Panda 17 Sidhant Panda
18 Kang Ling 18 Kang Ling