Home Featured Hauger wins FIA F3 race three with brilliant Hungaroring pass on Leclerc

Hauger wins FIA F3 race three with brilliant Hungaroring pass on Leclerc

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Dennis Hauger won the third FIA Formula 3 Championship race at the Hungaroring thanks to a bold move on his Prema team-mate Arthur Leclerc.

The rain started to fall heavily just before the start on an already-wet track, leading to several laps behind the safety car and a rolling start.

All three Trident drivers battled hard with each other once the track went green, but it didn’t last long as the safety car came out again as MP Motorsport’s Victor Martins made contact with HWA Racelab’s Oliver Rasmussen at turn 11.

Martins had to pit for a new front wing, and intense battles took place again once racing resumed.

Hauger put pressure on poleman Leclerc straight away, and, after some attempts, pulled off a brilliant move around the outside of turn two to take a lead he wouldn’t give up.

After that, Leclerc was close to dropping behind Trident’s Jack Doohan, but he quickly recomposed himsef to claim his first Sunday podium.

Doohan finished third, with those behind finishing in the same place they started.

Prema’s Ollie Caldwell made up a place from his grid spot and finished eighth after a close battle with Ayumu Iwasa who had strong pace in the wet but dropped back in the last few laps as the track dried.

Caldwell’s small haul of points means he’s now behind Doohan as Hauger’s closest title rival.

Charouz’s Enzo Fittipaldi took ninth after after starting 17th, and team-mate Logan Sargeant scored the last point.

Race two winner Matteo Nannini endured a tough race but pitted for slicks with five laps to go to earn fastest lap.

Two more incidents happened with three laps to go. Campos Racing’s Amaury Cordeel lost control while trying to overtake Roman Stanek at turn 13 and made contact, leading to both spinning round, and a few moments later,HWA’s Rafael Villagomez tapped Carlin’s Ido Cohen around at turn two.

Laszlo Toth then drove over the top of the backwards Cohen, and the race ended behind the safety car as a result.

Race results (20 laps)

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Dennis Hauger Prema 40m15.030s
2 Arthur Leclerc Prema +1.345s
3 Jack Doohan Trident +2.203s
4 David Schumacher Trident +2.736s
5 Clement Novalak Trident +3.268s
6 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +3.405s
7 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix +3.659s
8 Olli Caldwell Prema +4.964s
9 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System +5.242s
10 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System +5.461s
11 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing +5.979s
12 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP +6.268s
13 Jake Hughes Carlin +8.050s
14 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix +8.279s
15 Jak Crawford Hitech GP +8.417s
16 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +9.282s
17 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +10.052s
18 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport +16.140s
19 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport +18.753s
20 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System +27.090s
21 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab +27.678s
22 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +28.155s
23 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab +28.435s
24 Roman Stanek Hitech GP +29.002s
25 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing +52.735s
26 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab +53.284s
27 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +58.168s
Ret Ido Cohen Carlin
Ret Laszlo Toth Campos Racing
Ret Jonny Edgar Carlin
Fastest lap: Nannini, 1m42.442s

Championship standings
1 Hauger 152   2 Doohan 89   3 Caldwell 86   4 Vesti 80   5 Smolyar 73   6 Novalak 70   7 Martins 66   8 Leclerc 44   9 Nannini 42   10 Collet 41