Home Featured Hauger heads Collet in FIA F3 practice at Paul Ricard

Hauger heads Collet in FIA F3 practice at Paul Ricard

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: DPPA / Red Bull Content Pool

Dennis Hauger sets the pace in free practice for the second round of the FIA Formula 3 Championship season at Paul Ricard.

Hauger and MP Motorsport driver Caio Collet swapped times at the top of the order throughout the session.

Both drivers improved on their final lap to take the chequered flag, but Hauger’s 1m51.478s effort was enough to put him ahead by 0.252 seconds, with Trident’s Jack Doohan completing the top three.

ART Grand Prix’s Frederick Vesti was consistently at the sharp end of the field, but was never quite quick enough to go fastest. Early on, Collet set the pace with Vesti close behind. Vesti was able to get within 0.064s of the top spot, but couldn’t keep up with the rate of improvement from Collet and Prema’s points leader Hauger.

A late improvement from Doohan dropped him to fourth, ahead of MP’s Victor Martins.

The session was red flagged with a little over 20 minutes on the clock when Reshad de Gerus ran into the barriers in the final sector. The Charouz driver was able to limp back to the pits, but a damaged front suspension meant he would take no further part in the session.

Running resumed five minutes later, only for a spin for Raffael Villagomez to bring out the virtual safety car as the HWA driver struggled to get going again.

Once the track went green again, laptimes rapidly tumbled. Hitech GP’s Jak Crawford briefly held the top spot with his penultimate lap of the session, but he wouldn’t stay there for long. He eventually ended up sixth, 0.517s off the pace.

ART GP’s Alexander Smolyar took seventh as Jonny Edgar (Carlin) and Jenzer duo Calan Williams and Johnathan Hoggard rounded out the top 10. It was Hoggard’s first ever FIA F3 practice session.

Free practice results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m51.478s 15
2 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m51.730s +0.252s 17
3 Jack Doohan Trident 1m51.826s +0.348s 15
4 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m51.854s +0.376s 16
5 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m51.931s +0.453s 17
6 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m51.995s +0.517s 16
7 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m52.214s +0.736s 16
8 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m52.217s +0.739s 16
9 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m52.251s +0.773s 14
10 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m52.255s +0.777s 16
11 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m52.265s +0.787s 14
12 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m52.300s +0.822s 14
13 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m52.397s +0.919s 16
14 David Schumacher Trident 1m52.414s +0.936s 14
15 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m52.490s +1.012s 14
16 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m52.556s +1.078s 16
17 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m52.576s +1.098s 17
18 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m52.672s +1.194s 18
19 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m52.741s +1.263s 16
20 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m52.756s +1.278s 15
21 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m52.760s +1.282s 16
22 Pierre-Louis Chovet Campos Racing 1m52.841s +1.363s 19
23 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m52.852s +1.374s 16
24 Clement Novalak Trident 1m52.860s +1.382s 14
25 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m53.117s +1.639s 15
26 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m53.203s +1.725s 19
27 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m53.276s +1.798s 15
28 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.546s +2.068s 14
29 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m53.652s +2.174s 18
30 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 2m05.606s +14.128s 6