Home Featured Hadjar heads Hitech 1-2 in FRAC finale

Hadjar heads Hitech 1-2 in FRAC finale

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: FRAC

Isack Hadjar held off Hitech GP team-mate Gabriele Mini to take his second Formula Regional Asian Championship win and, with it, third in the final standings.

Hadjar made an excellent start to the final race at Yas Marina Circuit from pole position and managed to control it from the front despite two lengthy safety car periods.

Mini had a look into the first corner at the first restart but had to settle for second, 0.835 seconds behind his 2021 FRegional European Championship rookie rival.

Paul Aron had made a quick getaway, taking to the run-off at the first corner to sweep past Mini for second. However, he was ordered to give the place back to the Sicilian, which he duly did under the initial safety car.

Conversely, Jak Crawford made a poor start from the front row, dropping him behind both Mini and Aron. Though he was able to put Aron under pressure, including attempting a move on lap 10, the Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema driver held him off to the finish.

The front four pulled out a comfortable gap on their battling pursuers, headed for most of the race by series runner-up Pepe Marti ahead of Patrik Pasma, Dino Beganovic and Lorenzo Fluxa.

Both Pasma and Beganovic managed to get ahead of Marti in the final stages, although the Spaniard was able to repass Beganovic through the chicane before the support race start-finish line to regain sixth.

Beganovic’s Mumbai Falcons team-mates endured difficult races. A lap one spin dropped newly-crowned champion Arthur Leclerc to the back of the field although he subsequently recovered to take 14th.

Ollie Bearman could only finish one place ahead of his team-mate, having been involved in close battles with Pierre-Louis Chovet and Mikhael Belov as he tried to come through from 16th on the grid, having been given a five-place grid penalty. Post-race he, Sami Meguetounif and Vlad Lomko were then handed 10s penalties.

The Al Qubaisi family caused both safety car periods with similar spins at the same corner for Amna on lap two and her father Khaled four laps later.

Race result (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP
2 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP +0.835s
3 Paul Aron Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +1.580s
4 Jak Crawford Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +2.324s
5 Patrik Pasma Evans GP +3.914s
6 Pepe Marti Pinnacle Motorsport +5.395s
7 Dino Beganovic Mumbai Falcons +5.958s
8 Lorenzo Fluxa 3Y by R-ace GP +6.541s
9 Michael Belov Evans GP +7.813s
10 Pierre-Louis Chovet BlackArts Racing +10.169s
11 Dilano van’t Hoff Pinnacle Motorsport +11.309s
12 Arthur Leclerc Mumbai Falcons +12.743s
13 Owen Tangavelou Hitech GP +14.308s
14 Levente Revesz Evans GP Academy +14.753s
15 Ido Cohen BlackArts Racing +15.287s
16 Nicola Marinangeli Evans GP +15.485s
17 Oliver Goethe 3Y by R-ace GP +16.763s
18 David Morales Evans GP Academy +19.019s
19 Francesco Braschi 3Y by R-ace GP +19.116s
20 Ayato Iwasaki Pinnacle Motorsport +20.237s
21 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +20.375s
22 Sami Meguetounif Evans GP +21.943s
23 Ollie Bearman Mumbai Falcons +22.446s
24 Salih Yoluc Pinnacle Motorsport +31.761s
25 Thomas Luedi BlackArts Racing +33.663s
26 Vlad Lomko Hitech GP +34.843s
Ret Khaled Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema
Ret Lena Buhler 3Y by R-ace GP
Ret Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema
Fastest lap: Mini, 1m51.953s

Championship standings
1 Leclerc 218   2 Marti 158   3 Hadjar 134   4 Mini 130   5 Beganovic 130   6 Crawford 113   7 Sebastian Montoya 92   8 Aron 80   9 Hadrien David 64   10 Fluxa 64