Home Featured Guanyu Zhou leads Prema 1-2 in second Asian F3 race

Guanyu Zhou leads Prema 1-2 in second Asian F3 race

by Josh Suttill

Asian F3 Championship

Guanyu Zhou made it two victories from two after the Alpine Formula 1 test driver dominated the second Asian Formula 3 race of the season-opening weekend at the Dubai Autodrome.

The Chinese driver led his Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema team-mate Dino Beganovic away from pole position after second-place starter Kush Maini (Mumbai Falcons) was left stranded on the grid with gearbox woes.

The safety car was required in the early stages of the race following a collision between Amna Al Qubaisi and Rafael Villagomez.

Once racing resumed, Zhou dominated – the first time he’s won back-to-back races since his maiden season in car racing in 2015 in Italian Formula 4.

Beganovic secured second place in only his second race in Regional F3 machinery, while Isack Hadjar earned his and Evans GP’s maiden Asian F3 podium finish in third.

Pierre-Louis Chovet, who will race in FIA F3 Championship with Jenzer Motorsport later this year, finished in fourth for the second consecutive race.

Red Bull junior Ayumu Iwasa passed Formula 2-bound Alessio Deledda late-on to round out the top five.

Pinnacle Motorsport’s Deledda was forced to settle for sixth place, but this still represented his best-ever result in car racing.

Carlin’s F2 driver Jehan Daruvala, racing for Indian outfit Mumbai Falcons in Asian F3, spent the entirety of race one stuck behind fellow F2 driver Roy Nissany. He finally made passed him at the end of race two to finish in seventh.

Hitech’s Nissany claimed eighth ahead of sim racer Cem Bolukbasi (BlackArts Racing) and Evans GP’s Patrik Pasma.

Race results (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Guanyu Zhou Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 28m15.686s
2 Dino Beganovic Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +2.108s
3 Isack Hadjar Evans GP +2.695s
4 Pierre-Louis Chovet Pinnacle Motorsport +4.879s
5 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP +10.341s
6 Alessio Deledda Pinnacle Motorsport +14.366s
7 Jehan Daruvala Mumbai Falcons +15.785s
8 Roy Nissany Hitech GP +16.658s
9 Cem Bolukbasi BlackArts Racing +17.580s
10 Patrik Pasma Evans GP +18.147s
11 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +18.984s
12 Roman Stanek Hitech GP +19.864s
13 Nicola Marinangeli Motorscape +21.101s
14 Lorenzo Fluxa BlackArts Racing +22.076s
15 Roberto Faria Motorscape +23.370s
16 Casper Stevenson Evans GP +23.623s
17 Alexandre Bardinon Pinnacle Motorsport +27.952s
18 Zdenek Chovanec BlackArts Racing +31.041s
19 Irina Sidorkova Evans GP +31.785s
20 Matthias Luethen Pinnacle Motorsport +32.671
Ret Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema
Ret Rafael Villagomez BlackArts Racing
DNS Kush Maini Mumbai Falcons

Fastest Lap: Zhou 1m35.405s

Championship Standings:
Zhou 50  2 Beganovic 28  3 Chovet 24  4 Nissany 22  5 Daruvala 21  6 Hadjar 19  7 Iwasa 18   Deledda 8
Bolukbasi 8  10  Pasma 3