Home Featured George Russell heads ART 1-2 on final day of first F2 test

George Russell heads ART 1-2 on final day of first F2 test

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Malcom Griffiths/FIA Formula 2

George Russell was fastest on the final day of Formula 2’s first pre-season test at Paul Ricard, with his ART Grand Prix team-mate Jack Aitken second on the time-sheets.

Russell set a 1m42.396s in the morning session, which was 0.170s slower than Lando Norris’ benchmark set on Wednesday.

Aitken was just under two tenths adrift of the driver who beat him to the 2017 GP3 title.

Nyck de Vries completed the top three for Prema Racing ahead of former ART driver Alex Albon, who topped the afternoon session with a?1m42.923s.

Haas Formula 1 junior Arjun Maini was second fastest in the afternoon and fifth overall, with Louis Deletraz sixth for F2 newcomers Charouz Racing System.

The Carlin duo of Sergio Sette Camara and day one and two pacesetter?Norris were seventh and eighth quickest.

Dan Ticktum, who took over from Williams young driver Oliver Rowland in substituting for the ill Nicholas Latifi at DAMS, achieved the ninth fastest time (fourth in the afternoon) on his first day in F2 machinery, ahead of the Arden pair of Maximilian Gunther and Honda protege Nirei Fukuzumi.

Gunther ground to a halt just minutes into the afternoon session but recovered to post the fifth fastest time of the afternoon.

Also hitting trouble was Sean Gelael and?Roy Nissany, who both stopped on the?Mistral Straight. Antonio Fuoco, Artem Markelov and Ralph Boschung were among the drivers encountering mechanical?issues.

The F2 field will reconvene on March 21 at Bahrain for the second collective test.

Combined day three times
Pos Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 George Russell ART Grand Prix 1:42.396 1:44.356
2 Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 1:42.588 1:45.282
3 Nyck De Vries Prema Racing 1:42.759 1:44.742
4 Alexander Albon DAMS 1:42.925 1:42.923
5 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System 1:43.239 1:43.428
6 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1:43.269 1:43.597
7 Lando Norris Carlin 1:43.287 1:43.276
8 Maximilian Gunther Arden 1:43.350 1:43.330
9 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden 1:43.501 1:44.844
10 Daniel Ticktum DAMS 1:43.503 1:43.310
11 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:43.575 1:44.250
12 Sean Gelael Prema Racing 1:43.731 1:43.998
13 Luca Ghiotto Campos Racing 1:43.755 1:43.610
14 Arjun Maini Trident 1:43.851 1:43.061
15 Antonio Fuoco Charouz Racing System 1:43.899 1:43.572
16 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 1:43.948 1:44.163
17 Roy Nissany Campos Racing 1:44.048 1:44.782
18 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 1:44.164 1:43.961
19 Santino Ferrucci Trident 1:44.239 1:43.985
20 Roberto Merhi MP Motorsport 1:44.377 1:44.909