Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Geerts ends Formula Renault 2.0 NEC Assen test on top

Geerts ends Formula Renault 2.0 NEC Assen test on top

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Formula Renault 1.6 NEC Junior champion Roy Geerts posted the quickest lap of the two-day Assen test for FR2.0 NEC drivers.

Geerts, who will contest the regular season in the series with AVF, was quickest in sessions one and two of the second day, with his benchmark from the latter run remaining unmatched throughout the rest of the day.

In session one, Geerts did the most laps out of anyone and was a second clear of his nearest rivals – Raoul Owens and Ben Barnicoat. Day one pacesetter Jake Hughes was fourth, while Manor MP’s Julio Moreno rounded out the top five.

The Dutchman again ran the show in the second timed session, with Owens picking up another second. His teammate Hughes was 0.01s down, with Barnicoat a further 0.013s slower in fourth and Jorge Cevallos taking fifth.

Session three was topped by another AVF driver in Matthew Graham, who narrowly led Fortec duo Barnicoat and Martin Kodric. Mark Burdett pair of Owens and Hughes made up the rest of the top five.

The leading drivers from the third run switched places in session four, with Barnicoat ending the day on top ahead of Graham, Kodric, Seb Morris and Robin Hansson.

Combined session results
Pos. Driver Team S1 S2 S3 S4
1 Roy Geerts AVF 1:35.626 1:34.532 1:36.525 1:36.412
2 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsport 1:36.610 1:34.965 1:35.777 1:34.866
3 Mathew Graham AVF 1:39.061 1:35.608 1:35.680 1:34.924
4 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport 1:36.530 1:34.942 1:36.161 1:35.377
5 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Motorsport 1:36.673 1:34.952 1:36.220 No Time
6 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsport No Time 1:35.331 1:35.856 1:35.046
7 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsport 1:36.969 1:35.406 1:36.494 1:35.230
8 Jorge Cevallos Fortec Motorsport 1:37.208 1:35.232 1:36.436 1:35.789
9 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport 1:37.307 1:36.583 1:36.755 1:35.350
10 Josef Zaruba AVF 1:37.608 1:35.549 1:36.823 1:37.994
11 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova No Time 1:36.132 No Time No Time
12 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport 1:36.942 No Time 1:36.224 1:37.189
13 Jakub Dalewski Euronova No Time 1:36.528 No Time No Time
14 Leopold Ringbom PositiOne 1:40.363 No Time No Time No Time

Personal best time in bold
Best time of session in italics