Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Fuoco quickest on day two of GP3 testing

Fuoco quickest on day two of GP3 testing

by Gruz David
Photo: Malclom Griffiths/GP3 Series Media Service.

Photo: Malclom Griffiths/GP3 Series Media Service.

Ferrari protege Antonio Fuoco set the pace on day two of the GP3 pre-season testing at Estoril, lowering?yesterday’s benchmark by six tenths.

Fuoco, who returns to the series after ending his rookie camapign in sixth last year, topped both sessions of the day.

He grabbed the lead from ART rookie Alex Albon in the dying stages of the morning session, being the only driver to dip below the 1m28s barrier.

Jack Aitken, leader for most of the practice, had to settle for third, having been edged out by Albon by 0.022s.

The Briton’s former Eurocup teammate Jake Hughes completed the top four.

They were followed by the ART trio of Nirei Fukuzumi, quickest yesterday, Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc and Mclaren-bound Nyck de Vries.

Oscar Tunjo, a GP3 race winner despite tackling only six races last year,?was just five thousandths slower than the Formula Renault 3.5 convert Dutchman in eighth.

Spaniard Alex Palou and Swiss Kevin Jorg made up the top 10, both around seven tenths off Fuoco’s pace respectively.

Fuoco was once again quickest in the second running with fellow Trident driver Artur Janosz taking third.

The duo sandwiched Aitken,?whose teammate Jake Dennis ended up?fourth.

De Vries completed the top five, ahead of Matt Parry and DAMS duo Jorg and Santino Ferrucci.

Tunjo and recent Koiranen signing Ralph Boschung were ninth and tenth respectively.

Combined day two times
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Antonio Fuoco Trident 1:27.991 1:28.079
2 Jack Aitken Arden International 1:28.253 1:28.141
3 Artur Janosz Trident 1:28.763 1:28.193
4 Alexander Albon ART Grand Prix 1:28.231 1:31.620
5 Jake Dennis Arden International 1:29.214 1:28.250
6 Nyck de Vries ART Grand Prix 1:28.570 1:28.316
7 Jake Hughes DAMS 1:28.419 1:30.865
8 Matt Parry Koiranen GP 1:28.809 1:28.450
9 Nirei Fukuzumi ART Grand Prix 1:28.481 1:31.431
10 Charles Leclerc ART Grand Prix 1:28.505 1:32.342
11 Kevin Jorg DAMS 1:28.733 1:28.552
12 Oscar Tunjo Jenzer Motorsport 1:28.575 1:28.790
13 Alex Palou Campos Racing 1:28.667 1:30.637
14 Santino Ferrucci DAMS 1:30.698 1:28.765
15 Ralph Boschung Koiranen GP 1:29.030 1:28.822
16 Matevos Isaakyan Koiranen GP 1:28.932 1:29.322
17 Giuliano Alesi Trident 1:28.977 1:29.030
18 Steijn Schothorst Campos Racing 1:29.499 1:29.128
19 Tatiana Calderon Arden International No Time 1:29.144
20 Sandy Stuvik Trident 1:29.342 1:29.162
21 Akash Nandy Jenzer Motorsport 1:29.792 1:29.434
22 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing 1:29.466 1:31.216
23 Mahaveer Raghunathan Koiranen GP 1:30.234 1:30.896