Home Featured Frederik Vesti wins Italian F4 race two in the wet at Paul Ricard

Frederik Vesti wins Italian F4 race two in the wet at Paul Ricard

by Bethonie Waring

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Frederik Vesti took victory in a wet second Italian Formula 4 race at Paul Ricard.

The Dane inherited the race lead after poleman Olli Caldwell span early in the race. Vesti then pulled away from the rest of the field as Leonardo Lorandi struggled to maintain second position.

Enzo Fittipaldi eventually found a way past title rival Lorandi in the second half of the race after starting fifth, and began to close the gap to Vesti. With a series of fastest laps, the championship leader was able to get within 1.2s of Vesti before the red flag was brought out due to the worsening conditions.

Vesti?s victory in just his second race of the championship moves him up to fifth in the drivers? standings.

Lorandi continued to fall backwards as he struggled with the wet condition, allowing Giorgio Carrara to pick up the final podium position, ahead of Gianluca Petecof and Charles Weerts.

A number of drivers span throughout the race, but quick thinking meant most were able to avoid collisions, even when being spat into the paths of other drivers. Ian Rodriguez was one of the few casualties. The DRZ Benelli driver was pushing hard for a way past Lorandi as the pair battled for sixth, when he span on the final lap and was sent into the tyre barriers.

With the red flag coming out moments later, he was classified seventh, ahead of Caldwell, who enjoyed an impressive recovery drive. Gregoire Saucy and Jack Doohan completed the top 10.

Fittipaldi now leads the championship by 14 points over Lorandi, with Caldwell and Petecof in third and fourth ahead of Vesti.


Race two results (10 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Frederik Vesti Van Amersfoort Racing 26m59.204s
2 Enzo Fittipaldi Prema +1.212s
3 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +8.914s
4 Gianluca Petecof Prema +9.809s
5 Charles Weerts Van Amersfoort Racing +11.139s
6 Leonardo Lorandi Bhaitech +17.388s
7 Ian Rodriguez BRZ Benelli +17.520s
8 Olli Caldwell Prema +17.929s
9 Gregoire Saucy Jenzer Motorsport +18.554s
10 Jack Doohan Prema +20.495s
11 Javier Gonzalez Jenzer Motorsport +26.992s
12 Toby Sowery KDC Racing +27.816s
13 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +29.654s
14 Lucas Alecco Van Amersfoort Racing +38.580s
15 Ido Cohen Mucke Motorsport +40.432s
16 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +40.525s
17 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport +40.961s
18 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +42.168s
19 Oliver Rasmussen Jenzer Motorsport +44.786s
20 Gastone Sampieri BVM Racing +46.407s
21 Ilya Morozov KDC Racing +51.286s
22 Umberto Laganella Cram Motorsport +52.608s
23 Anthony Famularo Bhaitech +53.559s
24 Aaron Di Comberti KDC Racing +1m00.050s
25 Alessandro Famularo Bhaitech +1m03.838s
26 Lazio Toth DR Formula +1m09.846s
27 Axel Gnos AS Motorsport +1 lap
28 Andrea Del’Accio Cram Motorsport +1 lap
29 Niklas Krutten Mucke Motorsport +1 lap
30 Alessio Deledda Technorace +1 lap
31 Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni +1 lap
32 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +2 lap
Ret Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport
Pole: Caldwell, 2m05.055s? ? ??Fastest Lap: Fittipaldi, 2m24.184s

Championship Standings
Fittipaldi 83? ?2 Lorandi 69? ?3?Caldwell 51? ?4 Petecof 46? ?5?Vesti 43? ?6?Sowery 39???7?Malvestiti 33? ?8?Rodriguez 30? ?9?Carrara 27? ?10?Gonzalez 26