Home Featured Fewtrell takes third straight Eurocup win as Lundgaard retires again

Fewtrell takes third straight Eurocup win as Lundgaard retires again

by Ida Wood

Max Fewtrell took his third straight Formula Renault Eurocup win to increase his lead heading to the final round, after rival Christian Lundgaard ground to a halt while battling with the Briton.

After qualifying on pole, Lundgaard led Fewtrell in the early stages, with just under a second between the pair approaching the half-way point of the 30-minute race.

That was when the safety car was deployed after their Renault Sport Academy colleague Victor Martins went wide at Turn 1 while running seventh, breaking his suspension with a violent run over the kerb and spinning helplessly into the Turn 2 gravel trap.

At the restart with just over 10 minutes remaining, Fewtrell got a run on Lundgaard into the hairpin.

Lundgaard kept the lead on the inside line but slowed dramatically on the exit, allowing Fewtrell alongside him to move into the lead and the rest of the field to then sweep past.

Fewtrell took victory by eight tenths of a second over Oscar Piastri, who passed title challenger Yifei Ye when the Chinese driver ran wide at the hairpin behind the battling Fewtrell and Lundgaard at the restart.

R-ace GP driver Fewtrell will take a 20.5-point lead over Ye to the final round at Barcelona, with Lundgaard now 36.5 points adrift after his double retirement.

Logan Sargeant briefly got ahead of Piastri at the restart, but found himself passed soon afterwards by Neil Verhagen and Lorenzo Colombo. Colombo went on to beat Verhagen to fourth, with Sargeant getting back ahead of his fellow American for fifth.

Thomas Maxwell, Charles Milesi, Eliseo Martinez and Arthur Rougier rounded out the top 10.

Phil Hill took ScoRace Team’s first Northern European Cup class win in 15th, although it wasn’t enough to beat Gabriel Gandulias to second in the NEC standings. Hill’s team-mate Sharon Scolari was fourth in class and jumped up to fourth in the standings as a result. Sargeant ended the season fifth in the standings with two overall wins, but only being entered for points for the first four races.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP 18 laps
2 Oscar Piastri Arden +0.879s
3 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing +4.161s
4 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport +4.568s
5 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP +4.878s
6 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing +5.204s
7 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport +6.349s
8 Charles Milesi R-ace GP +7.275s
9 Eliseo Martinez AV Formula +7.958s
10 Arthur Rougier Fortec Motorsports +9.048s
11 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsports +9.931s
12 Sami Taoufik Arden +10.567s
13 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing +10.972s
14 Axel Matus AV Formula +17.259s
15 Phil Hill ScoRace Team +17.743s
16 Christian Munoz AV Formula +18.115s
17 Gabriel Gandulia R-ace GP +21.922s
18 Vladimir Tziortzis Fortec Motorsports +22.707s
19 Freek Schothorst MP Motorsport +34.571s
20 Doureid Ghattas Anders Motorsport +35.982s
21 Clement Novalak Josef Kaufmann Racing +36.728s
22 Sharon Scolari ScoRace Team +49.326s
23 Najiy Razak JD Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Nikita Volegov Arden
Ret Alex Peroni MP Motorsport
Ret Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing
Ret Alexander Smolyar Tech 1 Racing
Ret Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport
Ret Victor Martins R-ace GP
Fastest Lap: Sargeant, 1m39.617s

Eurocup standings
?Fewtrell 251.5? ?2 Ye 231? ?3 Lundgaard 215? ?4?Sargeant 175? ?5?Martins 171? ?6?Colombo 129.5? ?7?Milesi 111.5? ?8?Piastri 110? ?9?Peroni 87? ?10?Maxwell 66

Northern European Cup standings
1?Ghattas 266? ?2?Gandulia 224? ?3?Hill 216? ?4?Scolari 96? ?5?Sargeant 87? ?6 Martins 83? ?7?Peroni 60? ?8?Neubauer 58? ?9?Milesi 57? ?10 Bird 52