Home Featured Kjaergaard takes second Donington win to further cut Lundqvist’s margin

Kjaergaard takes second Donington win to further cut Lundqvist’s margin

by Peter Allen

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Nicolai Kjaergaard took his second BRDC British Formula 3 win of the weekend at Donington Park in race three to enhance his title chances heading to the final round.

Billy Monger started on pole for the second time this weekend, and although his Carlin team-mate Kjaergaard got a better start, Monger kept hold of the race lead on the inside at Redgate.

Monger led by three tenths of a second at the end of the first lap, but then dropped to fourth after a mistake towards the end of lap two.

The safety car came out on lap three, with Kjaergaard leading Krishnaraaj Madadik and Monger, with Jamie Caroline pitting and retiring out of third place due to broken suspension.

As in race two, repairs to kerbs at the chicane caused a lengthy delay, with the race eventually getting back underway with just five minutes left.

Kjaergaard pulled away from Madadik to win by two seconds, with Mahadik – who started sixth – resisting pressure from Monger, who completed his competitive return to Donington by claiming his third podium of the year.

Jamie Chadwick finished fourth ahead of debutant Hampus Ericsson, while Max Defourny took sixth after diving inside both Ayrton Simmons and Sun Yue Yang at Redgate.

Race two winner Sun ended up ninth behind Manuel Maldonado and ahead of Sasakorn Chaimongkol.

Starting 16th after his crash at the start of the dry race two, championship leader Linus Lundqvist grabbed 11th at the flag ahead of Tom Gamble – who was stripped of his second-place finish in race two for a technical infringement around the bolts fixing his car’s undertray.

Having finished no higher than eighth this weekend, Lundqvist will take a reduced lead of 50 points over Kjaergaard to the final round at Silverstone, having been 111 ahead coming to Donington.


Race results (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin 20m06.271s
2 Krishnaraaj Mahadik Double R Racing +2.067s
3 Billy Monger Carlin +3.313s
4 Jamie Chadwick Douglas Motorsport +4.104s
5 Hampus Ericsson Fortec Motorsports +4.939s
6 Max Defourny Douglas Motorsport +6.212s
7 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +7.961s
8 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +9.170s
9 Sun Yue Yang Carlin +9.559s
10 Sasakorn Chaimangkol Hillspeed +10.439s
11 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +11.656s
12 Tom Gamble Fortec Motorsports +11.899s
13 Jusuf Owega Hillspeed +12.240s
14 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +13.428s
15 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +16.046s
16 Kush Maini Lanan Racing +17.040s
17 Ben Hurst Hillspeed +17.628s
Ret Arvin Esmaeili Douglas Motorsport
Ret Jamie Caroline Carlin
Ret Cian Carey Chris Dittmann Racing
Fastest lap: Kjaergaard, 1m25.815s

Championship Standings
1?Lundqvist 496? ?2 Kjaergaard 446? ?3 Maini 345? ?4 Mahadik 336? ?5?Gamble 320? ?6?Monger 274? ?7?Maldonado 268? ?8 Chadwick 240? ?9?Chaimongkol 222? ?10?Yang 220