Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship FA Racing’s Masson heads FREC free practice at Hungaroring

FA Racing’s Masson heads FREC free practice at Hungaroring

by Ida Wood

Photo: Sebastian Rozendaal / DPPA

FA Racing’s Esteban Masson headed ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini at the top of the combined timesheet in Formula Regional Europe free practice at the Hungaroring.

The two were the drivers to beat for much of the afternoon session on Friday, which was initially headed by Prema’s Paul Aron.

Mini was the first driver to break into the 1m39s and initially led Van Amersfoort Racing’s testing pacesetter Kas Haverkort and Masson, then Masson went to the top by 0.043 seconds.

Arden’s Joshua Duerksen rose to fourth place at the same time, then improved to third place before red flags were waved as team-mate Noel Leon had come to a stop at turn two.

The session restarted with just a few minutes left, and Masson improved to a 1m39.419s lap in first place. MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif jumped up to second place, 0.114s slower, while Mini failed to find any more pace from his early session benchmark.

Duerksen was also shuffled back down to fifth by Haverkort, whose penultimate lap put him fourth.

In the morning, Mini had gone fastest in FP1 and his 1m39.472s lap from that session actually still put him second fastest overall for the day.

R-ace GP’s Hadrien David was his closest rival, and fourth fastest overall after only going 15th in FP2, and Race Performance Motorsport’s Pietro Delli Guanti was third ahead of Aron, Duerksen and Haverkort.

Two thirds of the 33-strong field had laptimes deleted across the two sessions for track limits violations.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m39.419s 36
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m39.472s +0.053s 38
3 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m39.533s +0.114s 36
4 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m39.670s +0.251s 42
5 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.676s +0.257s 41
6 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m39.702s +0.283s 36
7 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m39.715s +0.296s 35
8 Paul Aron Prema 1m39.739s +0.320s 39
9 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m39.901s +0.482s 43
10 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m39.905s +0.486s 35
11 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m39.936s +0.517s 38
12 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m39.953s +0.534s 38
13 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m39.958s +0.539s 42
14 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m39.977s +0.558s 42
15 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.001s +0.582s 39
16 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m40.016s +0.597s 45
17 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m40.049s +0.630s 37
18 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m40.051s +0.632s 42
19 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m40.057s +0.638s 37
20 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m40.119s +0.700s 39
21 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m40.149s +0.730s 40
22 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m40.239s +0.820s 42
23 Noel Leon Arden 1m40.244s +0.825s 36
24 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M 1m40.352s +0.933s 35
25 Andrea Rosso R-P-M 1m40.372s +0.953s 35
26 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.438s +1.019s 42
27 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m40.475s +1.056s 39
28 Francesco Braschi MP Motorsport 1m40.572s +1.153s 36
29 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m40.599s +1.180s 35
30 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m40.602s +1.183s 38
31 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m41.070s +1.651s 39
32 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m41.129s +1.710s 37
33 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m41.276s +1.857s 40