Home Featured Enaam Ahmed scores first European F3 win in second Hungaroring race

Enaam Ahmed scores first European F3 win in second Hungaroring race

by Tim Lumb


Enaam Ahmed took his first race win in the Formula 3 European Championship in the second race of the weekend in Hungary, as pole-sitter Dan Ticktum retired.

The victory for the Hitech driver puts him in the drivers’ championship lead ahead of Guan Yu Zhou going into the final race of the weekend, which he will start from pole.

Ahmed also became the fifth different winner in five races so far this season, joining Zhou, Ralf Aron, Sacha Fenestraz and Ticktum.

He took over the race lead at the first corner as Ticktum fell down to third. A few minutes later Ticktum became the only retiree from the race after running into apparent braking trouble.

Ahmed kept in control at the front of the pack throughout the race, finishing 2.872s ahead of Prema’s Marcus Armstrong at the chequered flag.

His Hitech team-mate Alex Palou completed the podium in third, his second top three finish so far this year.

The Prema duo of Guan Yu Zhou and Robert Shwartzman?were further back on the road and finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Mick Schumacher was on the tail of Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala in the latter stages of the race, but Daruvala was able to hold onto sixth place.

A second behind them at the finish was Daruvala’s team-mate Ferdinand?Habsburg in eighth, with Fenestraz also finishing in ninth for the Carlin team.

Hitech’s Ben Hingeley rounded off the top 10, finishing the race 1.433s behind Fenestraz but with over seven seconds between him and Fabio Scherer in 11th.


Race results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Enaam Ahmed Hitech 22 laps
2 Marcus Armstrong Prema +2.872s
3 Alex Palou Hitech +4.666s
4 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +8.077s
5 Robert Shwartzman Prema +10.606s
6 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +14.187s
7 Mick Schumacher Prema +14.492s
8 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +15.436s
9 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +17.565s
10 Ben Hingeley Hitech +18.998s
11 Fabio Scherer Motopark +26.582s
12 Ralf Aron Prema +27.411s
13 Marino Sato Motopark +29.700s
14 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +31.665s
15 Keyvan Soori Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +33.040s
16 Devlin DeFrancesco Carlin +33.676s
17 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +36.157s
18 Juri Vips Motopark +39.299s
19 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +39.913s
20 Nikita Troitckiy Carlin +40.593s
21 Julian Hanses ma-con +48.221s
22 Petru Florescu Fortec +57.700s
23 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +1 lap
24 Dan Ticktum Motopark DNF