Home Featured Enaam Ahmed doubles up in Hungaroring European F3 finale

Enaam Ahmed doubles up in Hungaroring European F3 finale

by Tim Lumb


Enaam Ahmed became the first driver to win two races in the Formula 3 European Championship this season after taking a lights-to-flag win in the final race at the Hungaroring.

After also winning the second race of the weekend, Ahmed leaves Hungary top of the drivers’ championship with 83 points and a 16 point gap to Prema’s Guan Yu Zhou.

Hitech’s Ahmed was attacked at the start by both Dan Ticktum and Marcus Armstrong, but emerged with the lead as Ticktum and Armstrong came together yet again, with the latter forced to retire with broken suspension.

From that point on over the 40 minutes, Ahmed was in control of the race, winning it at the end with a 7.225s margin to second place Ticktum, who finds himself in third overall in the standings after a win in race one and a retirement in race two.

Ticktum briefly fell to fourth after the clash with Armstrong behind Alex Palou and Robert Shwartzman before they both slowed and eventually retired with damage after going side-by-side into Turn 2.

Prema’s Mick Schumacher finished on the podium for the second time in European F3, over a year since his maiden visit at Monza, also making it three teams to appear in the top three for the final race.

Juri Vips was further down the road in fourth, his best finish in the series so far, with Zhou 1.358s behind in fifth place at the chequered flag.

Sacha Fenestraz was the highest-placed Carlin driver in sixth, while Prema’s Ralf Aron finished in seventh.

Jonathan Aberdein (Motopark) and Nikita Troitskiy (Carlin) were elevated to eighth and ninth respectively after Fabio Scherer was given a five-second time penalty at the end of the race.

The penalty demoted Scherer to 10th from eighth, with 11th placed Jehan Daruvala missing out on points by just 0.281s.


Race results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Enaam Ahmed Hitech 34m54.062s
2 Dan Ticktum Motopark +7.225s
3 Mick Schumacher Prema +8.914s
4 Juri Vips Motopark +12.559s
5 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +13.917s
6 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +15.514s
7 Ralf Aron Prema +20.154s
8 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +22.749s
9 Nikita Troitckiy Carlin +23.964s
10 Fabio Scherer Motopark +26.216s
11 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +26.497s
12 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +30.942s
13 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +32.341s
14 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +33.269s
15 Devlin DeFrancesco Carlin +34.046s
16 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +34.578s
17 Marino Sato Motopark +37.446s
18 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +38.384s
19 Petru Florescu Fortec +48.200s
20 Julian Hanses ma-con +54.346s
21 Alex Palou Hitech DNF (+8 laps)
22 Ben Hingeley Hitech DNF
23 Marcus Armstrong Prema DNF
24 Robert Shwartzman Prema DNF