Home Featured Doohan quickest in first session of FIA F3’s Jerez test

Doohan quickest in first session of FIA F3’s Jerez test

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Jack Doohan went quickest in the first session of the in-season FIA Formula 3 Championship test at Jerez, ahead of Trident team-mate Clement Novalak.

The Australian didn’t set a single lap in the first half of the three-hour morning session, but was immediately on the pace once he was on the track and set his fastest lap, a 1m29.625s, 105 minutes into the day’s action.

He was just 0.051 seconds faster than Novalak, who set his lap a minute later.

ART Grand Prix’s Frederik Vesti got within 0.1s of the Trident pair early in the final hour to go third fastest overall.

Four more drivers in the session were able to set sub-1m30s laps. Carlin’s Jonny Edgar was the first driver to break into the 1m29s, and was at the top of the order several times in the middle of the session.

He ended up fourth fastest ahead of Vesti’s team-mate Alexander Smolyar, Hitech GP’s Ayumu Iwasa – who was also briefly topped the times – and Jenzer Motorsport’s Calan Williams.

Caio Collet was eighth overall for MP Motorsport, and along with team-mate Tijmen van der Helm was one of only two drivers to head out on track early in the session. He was also first to set a flying lap 52 minutes into the session, a 1m31.304s that he improved on by 1.26s in the remaining time.

Pierre-Louis Chovet (Jenzer) and Jak Crawford (Hitech) rounded out the top 10 for the morning session.

Although Prema holds the top two positions in the drivers’ championship after the opening round, with Dennis Hauger leading Olli Caldwell by two points after three races, the team was slow off the mark at Jerez.

Arthur Leclerc was the fastest of its three drivers down in 18th and the only within a second of the pace, while points leader Dennis Hauger only left the pits to complete a few installation laps until the final half-hour but ended up slowest of all.

Charouz Racing System’s Logan Sargeant did not appear on the timing screens, despite being on the test entry list.

Test results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jack Doohan Trident 1m29.625s 18
2 Clement Novalak Trident 1m29.676s +0.051s 13
3 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m29.700s +0.075s 28
4 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m29.911s +0.286s 31
5 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m29.927s +0.302s 28
6 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m29.944s +0.320s 29
7 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m29.967s +0.342s 23
8 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m30.044s +0.419s 26
9 Pierre-Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.064s +0.439s 29
10 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m30.097s +0.472s 30
11 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m30.181s +0.556s 30
12 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m30.228s +0.603s 32
13 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m30.324s +0.699s 21
14 David Schumacher Trident 1m30.429s +0.805s 13
15 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m30.438s +0.813s 30
16 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m30.511s +0.886s 21
17 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m30.551s +0.926s 29
18 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m30.604s +0.980s 32
19 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m30.664s +1.039s 33
20 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m30.762s +1.137s 29
21 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m31.090s +1.465s 30
22 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m31.192s +1.567s 26
23 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.203s +1.578s 28
24 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m31.628s +2.003s 30
25 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m31.704s +2.080s 22
26 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m31.788s +2.163s 29
27 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m32.044s +2.419s 34
28 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m32.153s +2.528s 11
29 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m32.383s +2.758s 25
30 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System no lap