Home Formula 4British F4 Dimitrov takes lights-to-flag win at Knockhill

Dimitrov takes lights-to-flag win at Knockhill

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Georgi Dimitrov cruised to victory in the second British Formula 4 race of the weekend at Knockhill.

Dimitrov inherited the race lead after a spin for Adam Fitzgerald on the formation lap, and was unchallenged throughout the 20 minute race.

He had extended a lead of more than five seconds by the chequered flag to secure his second victory of the season, and JHR Developments’ second win of the weekend.

Oliver Stewart was the only driver to keep Dimitrov under pressure early on, but a mistake for Stewart at the hairpin sent him tumbling down the order and out of the top 10.

Eduardo Coseteng inherited second just ahead of Aiden Neate. Neate briefly came through to take second but a mistake at the chicane allowed Coseteng to come back through.

Coseteng pulled away from the battle for third, but couldn’t close the gap to Dimitrov and finished a comfortable second.

Louis Sharp in second had attempted to take advantage of the same mistake as Coseteng but couldn’t follow the Hitech GP driver through. He continued to keep the pressure on Neate, with Alex Dunne and Oliver Gray close behind.

A mistake for Sharp allowed the two challengers to come through before a lock-up from Neate almost allowed Dunne to secure the podium position. Neate closed the door and managed to keep Dunne at bay.

Behind them, Gray had been close to the fight but was handed a five second time penalty for exceeding track limits. He was dropped back to P10.

Sharp was promoted to fifth ahead of Daniel Guinchard and the battling Ugo Ugochukwu and Stewart. Ugochukwu managed to find a way past the recovering Stewart to finish seventh. Joseph Loake and Gray rounded out the top 10.

Race result (25 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Georgi Dimitrov JHR Developments 20m24.068s
2 Eduardo Coseteng Hitech GP +5.079s
3 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport +11.802s
4 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +11.912s
5 Louis Sharp Carlin +12.545s
6 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport +14.145s
7 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin +14.301s
8 Oliver Stewart Hitech GP +14.767s
9 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +15.440s
10 Ollie Gray Carlin +17.358s
11 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport +21.307s
12 Edward Pearson Virtuosi +30.101s
13 Noah Lisle JHR Developments +30.451s
14 Michael Shin Virtuosi +40.268s
15 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP +1 lap
Fastest lap: Coseteng, 48.395s

Championship standings
 Dunne 271   Gray 204   3 Neate 157   Ugochukwu 155   5 Sharp 149   6 Dimitrov 116   7 Loake 112   8 Coseteng 109   9 Guinchard 105   10 Shin 54