Home Formula 3GB3 Lebbon holds off Voisin for dramatic second GB3 win at Silverstone

Lebbon holds off Voisin for dramatic second GB3 win at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Elite Motorsport’s Tom Lebbon resisted a late charge from Callum Voisin to win a dramatic GB3 race two at Silverstone

Lebbon made the better start from the inside of the front row to move ahead of Voisin into Copse, with Fortec Motorsports’ Joel Granfors also sweeping past the Carlin driver into Maggotts to take second.

Voisin then lost a further place to team-mate Javier Sagrera before the safety car was deployed at the end of the opening lap after Chris Dittmann Racing’s McKenzy Cresswell retired with rear-left suspension damage in an incident at Village.

Cresswell’s team-mate Branden Lee Oxley, Hitech GP’s Bryce Aron and JHR Development’s James Hedley were all involved in first-lap contact and pitted for new front wings.

The race resumed on lap four, with Voisin quickly dispatching Sagrera for third at Stowe. At the start of the next lap, Voisin nipped inside Granfors at Maggots to steal second before reeling Lebbon for the lead.

Lebbon resisted a final-lap challenge from Voisin into Village, but as the cars moved onto the Wellington Straight, Voisin clipped the rear of Lebbon’s car and lost his front wing.

Lebbon held on to win, despite suffering a rear-right puncture, as Voisin edged Granfors to second at the chequered flag.

Sagera was less than a second back in fourth, with team-mate Roberto Faria and JHR Development’s Matthew Rees coming home close behind.

Arden’s Nico Christodoulou was seventh ahead of Elite’s John Bennett, who lost three places on the opening lap.

Arden’s Alex Connor was ninth ahead of Douglas Motorsport’s Max Esterson.

Luke Browning repeated his race one performance by surging from the back of the field to 11th on the opening lap, where he remained until the finish. The result means Granfors moves ahead of the Hitech driver to the top of the standings.

Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport 21m51.380s
2 Callum Voisin Carlin +0.448s
3 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports +0.571s
4 Javier Sagrera Carlin +1.306s
5 Roberto Faria Carlin +1.747s
6 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +2.229s
7 Nico Christodoulou Arden +3.743s
8 John Bennett Elite Motorsport +3.881s
9 Alex Connor Arden +5.778s
10 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport +6.543s
11 Luke Browning Hitech GP +6.843s
12 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed +8.691s
13 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport +10.691s
14 David Morales Arden +10.843s
15 Cian Shields Hitech GP +13.028s
16 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +14.175s
17 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +14.988s
18 James Hedley JHR Developments +15.601s
19 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing +28.148s
20 Ayrton Ori Chris Dittmann Racing +28.746s
Ret Bryce Aron Hitech GP
Ret Zak Taylor Arden
Ret McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing
Fastest lap: Voisin, 1m54.077s

Championship standings
 Granfors 339.5   Browning 332   3 Voisin 264   4 Esterson 255.5   5 Faria 246.5   6 Lebbon 236.5   Rees 196.5   8 Bennett 195.5   9 Sagrera 188.5   10 Connor 174.5