Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Dienst holds off teammate Esmeijer to claim second win

Dienst holds off teammate Esmeijer to claim second win

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ADAC F4

Photo: ADAC F4

Marvin Dienst remained the only driver to win an ADAC F4 race as he took his second victory of the Oschersleben weekend from pole position.

Managing a solid start, Dienst held HTP teammate Janneau Esmeijer at bay, leading an HTP 1-2 at the checkered flag.

Esmeijer, who was on pole for race one but did not finish it, stayed within a second of Dienst for all thirty minutes of the race and kept the German under pressure.

But he never forced the issue, content with helping his two-car team to a perfect run.

Behind the duo, Ralf Aron passed Joseph Mawson off the line for third and maintained position, claiming his fourth podium in just as many starts with Prema.

After the start, the 35-car pack was through the first few corners with no incident, but Nikolaj Rogivue then suffered a heavy crash, bringing out the safety car.

Neuhauser’s Tim Zimmermann made up seven places over the opening lap and continued to march through the field after the restart. He first forced teammate Kim-Luis Schramm wide into turn one to claim ninth and then eased past Joel Eriksson and Giorgio Maggi.

A spin for Robin Brezina brought out the weekend’s fifth safety-car period, leaving a five-minute green flag dash at the end of the race.

There were no changes in the top five, with Mawson and Mattia Drudi finishing right outside of the podium, but sixth-placed Ferrari junior Guanyu Zhou slipped behind both Zimmermann and Maggi.

Eriksson took ninth, while Schramm was forced into an error by Robert Schwartzman, who claimed tenth.

Jonathan Cecotto, Harri Newey and Mick Schumacher – all sons of big motorsport names – were just outside of the points.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team 18 laps in 31:17.044
2 Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +0.798
3 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +1.661
4 Joey Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing +3.301
5 Mattia Drudi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +3.687
6 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +5.945
7 Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +7.342
8 Guan Yu Zhou Prema Powerteam +7.493
9 Joel Eriksson Motopark +8.156
10 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +8.454
11 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +9.652
12 Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing +10.077
13 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +10.718
14 Mike Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +13.505
15 Jannes Fittje Motopark +14.091
16 Florian Janits Lechner Racing +14.873
17 Marcel Lenerz Lechner Racing +15.708
18 Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +16.176
19 Jan Jonck RS Competition +17.034
20 Job van Uitert Privateer +17.350
21 Michael Waldherr Motopark +17.867
22 Leon Wippersteg Team Timo Scheider +18.452
23 Marek B?ckmann Jenzer Motorsport +18.802
24 Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider +19.763
25 Yan Leon Shlom Team Timo Scheider +20.368
26 Robin Brezina Privateer +21.199
27 Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +22.316
28 Toni Wolff Piro Sports +22.690
29 Thomas Preining Mucke Motorsport +22.772
30 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +23.208
31 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +23.528
32 Marylin Niederhauser Race Performance +34.809
Not classified
Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +2 laps
Cedric Piro Piro Sports +3 laps
Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +18 laps