Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Dennis Olsen takes maiden Eurocup pole at the Nurburgring

Dennis Olsen takes maiden Eurocup pole at the Nurburgring

by Ant Musker
Dennis Olsen

Photo: Antonin Grenier/DPPI

Dennis Olsen will lead from the front at the start of the second Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 race at the Nurburgring after securing his maiden pole position in the series.

The Norwegian rookie set the fastest time in the Group A section and will be partnered on the front row by Nick Cassidy of Koiranen GP who topped Group B.

Charles Leclerc of Fortec and Ignazio D?Agosto occupy the second row while yesterday?s race winner Nyck de Vries starts in fifth place.

After claiming his first Eurocup podium in Saturday?s race, Jack Aitken will continue to look for more valuable points starting from sixth on the grid.

Egor Orudzhev of Tech 1 starts seventh while Louis Deletraz of Josef Kaufmann Racing will look for his first top ten result after qualifying eighth. Martin Rump of Fortec and Gustav Malja, another Josef Kaufmann driver, complete the top ten for race two.

Grid for race two
Pos. Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 2:12.836
2 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP 2:13.514
3 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports 2:12.907
4 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP 2:13.717
5 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 2:13.543
6 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 2:13.913
7 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 2:13.595
8 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:14.475
9 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports 2:13.720
10 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:14.489
11 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport 2:13.771
12 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport 2:14.518
13 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team 2:13.798
14 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 2:14.568
15 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:14.698
16 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 2:14.879
17 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team 2:14.722
18 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team 2:15.198
19 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport 2:14.809
20 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:15.233
21 James Allen ARTA Engineering 2:15.062
22 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 2:15.663
23 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 2:15.138
24 Alexander Albon KTR 2:16.826
25 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam 2:15.192
26 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport 2:16.969
27 Gregor Ramsay KTR 2:16.155
28 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing 2:17.898
29 Josef Zaruba China BRT by JCS 2:16.559
30 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport 2:17.480
31 Victor Franzoni China BRT by JCS No Time