Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Dempsey and Gilkes late entries for National FF1600 season

Dempsey and Gilkes late entries for National FF1600 season

by Ida Wood

A grid of 18 cars will participate in this weekend’s BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 season opener on Silverstone’s International layout.

B-M Racing’s FFord Festival winner Jamie Sharp is the highest place full-season returnee from 2021, having finished fifth in the standings, while Kevin Mills Racing’s GB4-bound Tom Mills is part of its line-up for round one to gain circuit experience.

A five-car line-up will be fielded by B-M at Silverstone, although several of its entries are only part-timers. Dave McArthur will appear at Croft and at least two other rounds, while W Series race-winner Megan Gilkes, 10th in National FF1600 last year, moves across from KMR and plans do most of the season but will be missing a couple of rounds.

Rory Smith, the 2020 Festival winner, will contest select rounds, while Sammarinese racer Davide Meloni will be Sharp’s full-time team-mate. Meloni raced in National FF1600 in 2018 and ’19, but travel restrictions during the COVID-19 pandemic meant he couldn’t compete the past two years.

In addition to the already announced line-ups at Team Dolan and the rebranded Ammonite Motorsport (formerly Low Dempsey Racing), there are two-car line-ups at KMR and Oldfield Motorsport.

Reigning Northern Irish FF1600 champion, 2019 Walter Hayes Trophy winner and 2018 Chinese Formula 4 champion Jordan Dempsey will contest the full National campaign with KMR, while Oldfield retains its Champion of Brands race-winner Lucas Romanek and signs Northern Irish teenager Brandon McCaughan who starred as a rookie in NI FF1600 last year and then at the WHT won the Janet Cesar Memorial Trophy for pre-1993 cars and made the overall final in a 32-year-old Mondiale.

The entry list for this weekend is completed by Andy Powell Racing’s Murray Shepherd, who raced a FF2000 car in Classic Formula 3 last year, and Welsh privateer Tom Nippers.

A single free practice session took place on Friday, with qualifying and race one occurring on Saturday at 9:30am and midday and race two running on Sunday at 11:15am.

Silverstone entry list
Team No Driver Driver 2021
Team Dolan #88 Morgan Quinn Van Diemen RF99 12th in FFord Festival
#33 Ben Cochran Van Diemen RF09 13th in National FF1600
#48 Gabe Tesch Van Diemen LA10 Senior karting
Kevin Mills Racing #3 Jordan Dempsey Spectrum 011C Northern Irish FF1600 champion
#121 Tom Mills Spectrum 011C 4th in National FF1600
Ammonite Motorsport #62 Colin Queen Ray GR18 8th in National FF1600
#52 Andre Lafond Ray GR15 12th in National FF1600
#32 Shawn Rashid Ray GR18 Races in Spec Racer Ford
#145 Brindley Kinch Ray GR08 33rd in Castle Combe FF1600
B-M Racing #89 Jamie Sharp Medina Sport JL17 FFord Festival winner
#45 Rory Smith Medina Sport JL18 6th in National FF1600
#15 David McArthur Medina Sport BH19 12th in Walter Hayes Trophy
#21 Davide Meloni Medina Sport BH22 No racing
#64 Megan Gilkes Medina Sport BH20 10th in National FF1600
Oldfield Motorsport #73 Lucas Romanek Van Diemen JL13 6th in Walter Hayes Trophy
#69 Brandon McCaughan Van Diemen JL13 4th in NI FF1600
Andy Powell Racing #26 Murray Shepherd Medina Sport Classic F3 class D champion
privateer #189 Tom Nippers Van Diemen RF01