Home Featured Doohan claims pole in first F2 qualifying of 2022 in Bahrain

Doohan claims pole in first F2 qualifying of 2022 in Bahrain

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Jack Doohan topped the first Formula 2 qualifying session of the year in Bahrain to claim his maiden series pole position thanks to a blistering mid-session lap.

The red flag came out less than one minute into the session after DAMS’ Ayumu Iwasa lost control of his car at the exit of turn two ended up in one of the circuit’s few gravel traps. The session resumed shortly afterwards, and all the drivers but free practice pacesetter Felipe Drugovich left the pits pursuing the first quick laps.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jake Hughes set the pace in the early stages of qualifying while Prema’s Dennis Hauger and Hitech GP’s Juri Vips had a close call coming onto the main straight. Vips, who was on a flying lap, had to avoid Hauger, who had slowed down as he headed to the pits.

Halfway through the session, Virtuosi Racing’s Doohan moved up to first place with a laptime of 1m40.542s. Going out very early for his second attempt, repeating the strategy that earned Guanyu Zhou pole with the same team one year ago, worked out well as nobody would be able to beat him.

ART Grand Prix’s Theo Pourchaire came within two tenths of Doohan’s benchmark to qualify on the front row for Sunday’s feature race. Third was Vips, who will share the second row with Carlin’s rookie Logan Sargeant.

Ralph Boschung put in the fifth fastest time, confirming the strong qualifying pace shown last year hasn’t disappeared over the winter. Pre-season pacesetter Liam Lawson could only be sixth, followed by a late effort from Prema’s Jehan Daruvala, and VAR’s Hughes.

Trident’s Richard Verschoor and MP’s Drugovich completed the top ten, which means they will line up second and first respectively for tomorrow’s sprint race.

Calan Williams upstaged bigger-name rookies to be the top F2 debutant in 12th for Trident. Last year’s FIA Formula 3 champion Hauger ended the session down in 15th and will have to visit the stewards as a result of his incident with Vips. Mercedes junior Frederik Vesti was only 19th.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m40.542s 9
2 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m40.683s +0.141s 12
3 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m40.755s +0.213s 10
4 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m40.760s +0.218s 12
5 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m41.000s +0.458s 12
6 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m41.100s +0.558s 11
7 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m41.115s +0.573s 11
8 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m41.121s +0.579s 12
9 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m41.178s +0.636s 10
10 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m41.210s +0.668s 10
11 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m41.218s +0.676s 11
12 Calan Williams Trident 1m41.313s +0.771s 10
13 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m41.354s +0.812s 10
14 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m41.374s +0.832s 12
15 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m41.509s +0.967s 11
16 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m41.529s +0.987s 12
17 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m41.752s +1.210s 12
18 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m41.865s +1.323s 10
19 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m42.083s +1.541s 12
20 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m42.089s +1.547s 12
21 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m42.880s +2.338s 4
22 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS No time