Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Louis Deletraz gets win from washed-out second Spa NEC race

Louis Deletraz gets win from washed-out second Spa NEC race

by Peter Allen
Louis Deletraz

Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

The second Formula Renault 2.0 NEC race at Spa-Francorchamps was limited to four laps behind the safety car in heavy rain, but Louis Deletraz picked up his fifth win of the campaign.

The race began behind the safety car and remained in that state until it was red-flagged during the fourth lap.

A result was declared with half points awarded and a podium ceremony held (with the rain now stopped), with pole-sitter Deletraz the winner ahead of race one winner Max Defourny.

Kevin Jorg was third ahead of Alex Gill, Ukyo Sasahara, Jehan Daruvala, Darius Oskoui, Callan O’Keeffe and Dries Vanthoor.

While the top nine finishers matched the starting grid, there was a change for 10th.

Just as in race one, Ferdinand Habsburg headed to the pits at the end of the first lap. After getting out of the car he did rejoin, but just went a lap down.

Nikita Mazepin thus inherited 10th place.

Habsburg was not the only driver in trouble – returning veteran Kevin Kleveros stopped on track during the opening lap.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 3 laps in 14:59.098
2 Max Defourny ART Junior Team +0.957
3 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +1.679
4 Alex Gill Fortec Motorsports +2.833
5 Ukyo Sasahara ART Junior Team +4.074
6 Jehan Daruvala Fortec Motorsports +5.256
7 Darius Oskoui ART Junior Team +6.126
8 Callan O’Keeffe Fortec Motorsports +7.391
9 Dries Vanthoor Josef Kaufmann Racing +8.598
10 Nikita Mazepin Josef Kaufmann Racing +9.436
11 Daniel Ticktum Koiranen GP +10.134
12 Colin Noble MGR Motorsport +12.039
13 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP +13.275
14 Josef Zaruba AVF +14.631
15 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP +16.226
16 Pontus Fredricsson Prizma Motorsport +16.634
17 Henrique Chaves AVF +17.432
18 Bartek Mirecki BM Racing +19.612
19 Inigo Bikuna AVF +21.036
20 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +22.383
21 David Richert Inter Europol Competition +23.614
22 Charlie Eastwood AVF +24.961
23 Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
Not classified
Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP 3 laps
Kevin Kleveros Prizma Motorsport 3 laps