Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps De Vries secures double pole for Mugello round

De Vries secures double pole for Mugello round

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Koiranen GP’s Nyck de Vries took pole position for both races of the penultimate Formula Renault 2.0 Alps round at Mugello.

De Vries was the only driver from the latter Group A to beat the time set by Fortec Motorsports’ Group B pacesetter Charles Leclerc.

The Monegasque racer, who narrowly bested the Dutchman in both practice sessions, was unmatched in the earlier Group B, leading his category by more than a quarter of a second.

MGR’s Pietro Fittipaldi and Koiranen’s George Russell contested the spot on the second row, with the Brazilian eventually coming out on top. Russell settled for third in group, with Dennis Olsen and Hugo de Sadeleer rounding out the top five.

In the second group of qualifying, de Vries took until the final seven minutes to finally best Leclerc’s time and claim provisional pole. He would remain untroubled in the first spot, a whopping six tenths clear of second-placed Bruno Bonifacio.

Alps frontrunner Matevos Isaakyan was third, ahead of Tech 1’s Eurocup drivers Anthoine Hubert and Egor Orudzhev.

The grid for race two of the weekend will be made up on second-best times. As such, de Vries and Leclerc are, again, set to lock out the front row.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 1:43.917
2 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports 1:44.481
3 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:44.529
4 Pietro Fittipaldi MGR Motorsport 1:44.732
5 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 1:44.716
6 George Russell Koiranen GP 1:44.867
7 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:44.745
8 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 1:44.971
9 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:44.902
10 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 1:45.108
11 Stefan Riener Cram Motorsport 1:44.969
12 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 1:45.142
13 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP 1:44.988
14 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport 1:45.160
15 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports 1:45.011
16 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing 1:45.383
17 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 1:45.168
18 Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing 1:45.531
19 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing 1:45.219
20 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing 1:45.665
21 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 1:45.466
22 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam 1:45.962
23 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport 1:45.475
24 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 1:46.093
25 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing 1:45.858
26 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport 1:46.151
27 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam 1:45.909
28 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing 1:46.305
29 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports 1:46.062
30 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix 1:46.462
31 Andrea Baiguera Brixia Horse Power 1:47.220
32 James Allen ARTA Engineering 1:46.488
33 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse 1:48.578