Home News De Alba claims maiden Indy Pro pole at Gateway

De Alba claims maiden Indy Pro pole at Gateway

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Former NASCAR racer Salvador de Alba has taken his maiden single-seater pole position in Indy Pro 2000 qualifying at Gateway.

With cars heading out in reverse championship order, it was series newcomer Trey Burke who went on his two-lap run first. He lay the benchmark at 135.681mph, a speed surpassed by all but two drivers.

Bijoy Garg and then Marcos Flack took provisional pole in turn. Flack held the fastest speed until the session mid-point, when Jay Howard Driver Development team-mate de Alba went quickest. Oval expert de Alba’s average speed of 138.560mph would not go beaten by the championship contenders.

A number of drivers took turns slotting into second place with their runs, and Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Reece Gold came closest to surpassing de Alba and went just 55 thousandths of a second slower over the two laps. He qualified second, and would not be bettered by title rival Foster, who was a further 0.18mph back in third place.

Nolan Seigel qualified fourth, ahead of Josh Green, Braden Eves and Enaam Ahmed. Flack was bumped down to eighth by the time the rest of the field came through.

The only drama in the session was a spin for Jordan Missig. The rear of Missig’s car hit the wall heavily on his second lap, causing damage that left fluid on the track. If the car can be repaired in time for the race, he will start last.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Speed Time Gap
1 Salvador de Alba JHDD 138.560mph 1m04.9537s
2 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 138.442mph 1m05.0091s +0.0554s
3 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 138.262mph 1m05.0937s +0.1400s
4 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 137.744mph 1m05.3385s +0.3848s
5 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 137.657mph 1m05.3800s +0.4263s
6 Braden Eves JHDD 137.569mph 1m05.4217s +0.4680s
7 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 137.495mph 1m05.4571s +0.5034s
8 Marcos Flack JHDD 136.149mph 1m06.1039s +1.1502s
9 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 135.846mph 1m06.2517s +1.2980s
10 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 135.827mph 1m06.2610s +1.3073s
11 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsport 135.786mph 1m06.2810s +1.3273s
12 Trey Burke Turn 3 Motorsport 135.518mph 1m06.4120s +1.4583s
13 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 134.772mph 1m06.7793s +1.8256s
14 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 133.918mph 1m07.2053s +2.2516s
15 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1 lap