Home News Eves quickest, Foster fourth in IP2000’s Gateway practice

Eves quickest, Foster fourth in IP2000’s Gateway practice

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Brandon Eves topped the order with a late flying lap in Indy Pro 2000 free practice at Gateway.

Eves had been set the pace in the opening laps but dropped back to third, where he stayed for the majority of the 30-minute session. But a string of flying laps late in the morning allowed him to climb back to the top spot.

The Jay Howard Driver Development driver managed a time of 31.816s around the short Gateway oval, with an average speed of 141.439mph.

His team-mate Salvador de Alba also spent much of the session top of the order. In the first handful of laps, he had gone quickest with a speed of 140.643mph. That went unbeaten for most of practice, until a lap from Nolan Seigel finally allowed the DEForce Racing driver to go quicker. Seigel broke into the 141mph range and had improved the fastest speed to 141.363mph before Eves’ late flying lap.

Seigel ended the session second quickest, ahead of de Alba and Louis Foster. Points leader Foster hadn’t spent much time running at the sharp end, but did manage to set more laps than almost anyone else in the session, beaten only by Kiko Porto.

Yuven Sundaramoorthy showed consistent improvement and ended practice in fifth, just ahead of Bijoy Garg and Jordan Missig.

The debuting Marcos Flack, Reece Gold and Josh Green completed the top 10.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Speed Gap Laps
1 Braden Eves JHDD 141.439mph 42
2 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 141.363mph +0.0171s 26
3 Salvador de Alba JHDD 141.161mph +0.0627s 39
4 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 141.112mph +0.0737s 43
5 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 140.278mph +0.2633s 41
6 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 140.197mph +0.2819s 39
7 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 139.982mph +0.3312s 41
8 Marcos Flack JHDD 139.936mph +0.3416s 41
9 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 139.664mph +0.4043s 27
10 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 139.547mph +0.4314s 35
11 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 139.427mph +0.4591s 46
12 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 139.156mph +0.5220s 24
13 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsport 138.301mph +0.7219s 38
14 Trey Burke Turn 3 Motorsport 138.131mph +0.7619s 41
15 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 135.149mph +1.4808s 30