Home Featured David holds off Beganovic for Monaco FREC victory

David holds off Beganovic for Monaco FREC victory

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: FRECA/Dutch Photo Agency

Hadrien David took his first victory of the Formula Regional European Championship season in the opening race of the weekend at Monaco.

There was little championship leader Dino Beganovic could do to stop David taking the victory, despite a mid-race red flag halting action.

The red flag was brought out when the track became blocked at the Fairmont hairpin. Esteban Masson had been battling Sami Meguetounif when Meguetounif tried to make a move down the inside, pushing Masson into the barrier. Masson blocked the track for those behind and the red flag was thrown before he was able to get going again under his own power.

There had been little change at the front of the order before this point. David had briefly extended the gap to over a second ahead of Beganovic, though the championship leader had since closed back to within a second. The pair had broken away from third-placed Kas Haverkort.

Racing resumed with just under five minutes on the clock. There was again no change at the front of the order.

David and Beganovic broke away from the rest of the field but there was no opportunity for the Prema driver to make a move. He would end the race 0.902s back.

Gabriele Mini spent the closing stages of the race keeping Haverkort under pressure, but he also couldn’t find a way past. Haverkort finished more than two seconds back from Beganovic but held off Mini to take his first series podium after being excluded from the previous race at Imola.

Michael Belov picked up fifth ahead of Gabriel Bortaleto and Mari Boya, who got a good start to pass ART Grand Prix team-mate Laurens van Hoepen. Leonardo Fornaroli was the top rookie in ninth, while Noel Leon completed the top 10 ahead of Arden team-mates Eduardo Barrichello and Joshua Duerksen, who traded places in the opening laps.

With a 28-car capacity meaning those who qualified outside of the top 19 getting to start one of the two races, Paul Aron could make minimal progress from the back, finishing 25th.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Hadrien David R-ace GP 32m56.658s
2 Dino Beganovic Prema +0.902s
3 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +3.328s
4 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +3.546s
5 Michael Belov MP Motorsport +4.195s
6 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP +4.688s
7 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix +6.157s
8 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +7.797s
9 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +9.204s
10 Noel Leon Arden +9.596s
11 Eduardo Barrichello Arden +10.359s
12 Joshua Duerksen Arden +10.675s
13 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing +11.736s
14 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP +12.554s
15 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +13.016s
16 Tim Tramnitz Trident +13.781s
17 Sebastian Montoya Prema +14.096s
18 Roman Bilinski Trident +14.616s
19 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M +16.546s
20 Keith Donegan R-P-M +20.116s
21 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing +23.514s
22 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing +23.915s
23 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport +24.300s
24 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport +24.804s
25 Paul Aron Prema +25.209s
26 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +27.160s
27 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +29.049s
28 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing +30.357s
Fastest lap: Boya, 1m30.186s

Championship standings
1 Beganovic 104   2 David 56   3 Mini 52   4 Aron 48   5 Belov 48   6 Haverkort 47   7 Bortoleto 39   8 Boya 38   9 Montoya 20   10 Fluxa 15