Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship David Beckmann fastest in Hungaroring FIA F3 free practice

David Beckmann fastest in Hungaroring FIA F3 free practice

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

David Beckmann set the pace in free practice ahead of the Hungary round of the 2020 Formula 3 championship.

The Trident driver set a 1m31.839s lap in the closing stages of the session to knock Jake Hughes off the top spot.

Most of the field found improvements in their final laps of the session, and Beckmann’s Trident team-mate Lirim Zendeli and ART’s Sebastian Fernandez were able to get within a tenth of a second of his time, but none could go quicker.

Championship leader Oscar Piastri spent most of the session in the pits. He completed just 13 laps, while most of the field ran between 19 and 22. He was able to get out for two short stints, but couldn’t get onto the same pace as Beckmann and ended the session 28th.

The Renault junior took to Twitter after the session to complain that his DRS had not been working.

Second in the championship, Frederik Vesti also had a shortened session and finished P27 overall.

David Schumacher and Igor Fraga both had the pace to be towards the front of the field, but traffic hindered both drivers. Schumacher had already briefly topped the times towards the middle of the session and was on a flying lap just before the chequered flag when he hit traffic.

Fraga’s problem came earlier in the session when he was held up by Alessio Deledda, an incident that attracted the attention of the stewards. They ended the session 24th and 25th, with Schumacher 0.2s ahead of Fraga, and just behind Logan Sargeant.

Hughes dropped back to fourth after the late laps, ahead of Liam Lawson, Theo Pourchaire and Cameron Das.

Jack Doohan, Richard Verschoor and Alexander Smolyar completed the top 10.


Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 David Beckmann Trident 1m31.839s 19
2 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m31.849s +0.010s 20
3 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 1m31.870s +0.031s 20
4 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m31.948s +0.109s 20
5 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m32.076s +0.237s 20
6 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m32.113s +0.274s 20
7 Cameron Das Prema 1m32.237s +0.398s 20
8 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 1m32.279s +0.440s 21
9 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m32.321s +0.482s 19
10 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m32.421s +0.582s 20
11 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1m32.426s +0.587s 19
12 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m32.481s +0.642s 20
13 Matteo Nannnini Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.494s +0.655s 20
14 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m32.590s +0.751s 18
15 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 1m32.631s +0.792s 19
16 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.644s +0.805s 21
17 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m32.770s +0.931s 17
18 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m32.770s +0.931s 20
19 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 1m32.850s +1.011s 20
20 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.912s +1.073s 22
21 Enaam Ahmed Carlin 1m32.999s +1.160s 18
22 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1m33.112s +1.273s 18
23 Logan Sargeant Prema 1m33.141s +1.302s 16
24 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m33.217s +1.378s 21
25 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System 1m33.464s +1.625s 19
26 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing 1m33.469s +1.630s 19
27 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m33.570s +1.731s 16
28 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m33.654s +1.815s 13
29 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System 1m33.689s +1.850s 22
30 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1m35.322s +3.483s 18