Home Featured Dan Ticktum tops European F3 free practice at Silverstone

Dan Ticktum tops European F3 free practice at Silverstone

by Ida Wood

Photo: FIA F3 Europe

Dan Ticktum dominated free practice for his home round of the European Formula 3 Championship at Silverstone, topping both sessions.

Ticktum and his Motopark team-mates seemed to have the best set-up for the British track, with three of the six drivers topping the times at some point. Ultimately it was Ticktum who prevailed, by over a third of a second, with Carlin’s Sacha Fenestraz interrupting to Motopark stronghold to take second on both occasions.

Jonathan Aberdein was fourth fastest in the first session and third fastest in the second for Motopark, heading Prema trio Robert Shwartzman, Marcus Armstrong and Mick Schumacher. Prema had been off the pace in the opening session, but looked more confident in the second, with four of its drivers rising up the timesheets late on. The exception to that was Ralf Aron, down in 15th.

Marino Sato and Juri Vips were sandwiched by the Premas in front and Guan Yu Zhou behind in seventh and eighth, with reigning BRDC British F3 champion Enaam Ahmed completing the top 10 for Hitech GP in what was a disappointing morning for the local team.

Alex Palou was 13th fastest, although was sixth in the first session, while Ben Hingeley was 17th and European F3 debutant Charles Leong was 24th and last.

Surrey-based Carlin were similarly as poor, with Ferdinand Habsburg, Jehan Daruvala and Nikita Troitskiy only managing 11th, 14th and 18th.


Free practice results
Pos Driver Team FP1 FP2
1 Dan Ticktum Motopark 1m51.286 1m50.753
2 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin 1m51.712 1m51.119
3 Jonathan Abderdein Motopark 1m51.845 1m51.144
4 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m52.194 1m51.191
5 Marcus Armstrong Prema 1m52.203 1m51.262
6 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m51.999 1m51.373
7 Marino Sato Motopark 1m52.503 1m51.468
8 Juri Vips Motopark 1m51.768 1m51.483
9 Guan Yu Zhou Prema 1m52.820 1m51.577
10 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP 1m52.400 1m51.578
11 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 1m52.392 1m51.599
12 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark 1m52.455 1m51.613
13 Alex Palou Hitech GP 1m52.100 1m51.694
14 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m52.109 1m51.724
15 Ralf Aron Prema 1m52.468 1m51.882
16 Fabio Scherer Motopark 1m52.201 1m51.920
17 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP 1m52.651 1m52.016
18 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin 1m52.907 1m52.259
19 Kevyan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.146 1m52.341
20 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing 1m52.565 1m52.354
21 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.348 1m52.810
22 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 1m53.447 1m52.934
23 Petru Florescu Fortec 1m52.284 1m53.068
24 Charles Leong Hitech GP 1m53.192 1m53.254