Home Formula 4British F4 Cresswell quickest in British F4 testing at Silverstone

Cresswell quickest in British F4 testing at Silverstone

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

McKenzy Cresswell was the pacesetter on British Formula 4’s pre-event test day at Silverstone’s National circuit.

The JHR Developments driver actually set the fastest lap of the day in the early morning session with a 56.052s lap, with the track not getting much faster through the day despite rising temperatures.

Argenti Motorsport’s Aiden Neate and Eduardo Coseteng were the drivers to beat in the other three sessions of the day, with Neate going two tenths slower than Cresswell’s benchmark and Coseteng going slightly faster with a 56.256s in session three and a 56.250 in session four.

Cresswell got pipped by Neate in session two, with the top five covered by just 0.081 seconds. On the day’s overall timesheet it was a gap of 0.198s between Cresswell and Coseteng, with Fortec Motorsports’ Oliver Gray 0.217s back in third place.

Joining the test was South Korean karter Michael Shin with JHR, Anglo-Malaysian karter Nikolas Taylor at Fortec and Cameron McLeod at Arden. Australian Formula Ford graduate McLeod will be making his F4 debut with Arden this weekend, and he missed the first session of Thursday.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 McKenzy Cresswell JHR Developments 56.052s 87
2 Eduardo Coseteng Argenti Motorsport 56.250s +0.198s 86
3 Oliver Gray Fortec Motorsports 56.269s +0.217s 84
4 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport 56.295s +0.243s 81
5 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 56.303s +0.251s 76
6 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 56.335s +0.283s 81
7 Matias Zagazeta Argenti Motorsport 56.373s +0.321s 77
8 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Carlin 56.454s +0.402s 75
9 Kai Askey Carlin 56.536s +0.484s 92
10 Marcos Flack Argenti Motorsport 56.613s +0.561s 84
11 Zak Taylor Arden 56.652s +0.600s 92
12 James Hedley Fortec Motorsports 56.663s +0.611s 84
13 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 56.674s +0.622s 44
14 Dougie Bolger Carlin 56.764s +0.712s 86
15 Georgi Dimitrov Arden 56.806s +0.754s 91
16 David Morales Arden 56.932s +0.880s 90
17 Michael Shin JHR Developments 56.968s +0.916s 67
18 Nik Taylor Fortec Motorsports 56.988s +0.936s 95
19 Cameron McLeod Arden 57.040s +0.988s 65