Home Formula 4British F4 Connor quickest in practice ahead of British F4 finale

Connor quickest in practice ahead of British F4 finale

by Bethonie Waring

Alex Connor topped the times in free practice ahead of the 2020 British Formula 4 season finale at Brands Hatch.

Unlike most seasons, the final round of the year is taking place on the shorter Indy configuration of the Brands Hatch circuit, having been pushed back by the delays to the start of the season.

Connor was quickest in the second of the two Friday practice sessions, lapping with a time of 46.099 seconds.

Casper Stevenson, who remains mathematically still in the title fight, was second quickest, ahead of joint championship leader Luke Browning. Both were within a tenth of a second of Connor’s time, with Browning ending the day just 0.050s behind the pace setter.

It was Browning’s title rival and championship leader Zak O’Sullivan setting the pace in FP1.

A wet session meant lap times didn’t come close to those in FP2, and O’Sullivan ended the session with a 55.078s lap. Like the rest of the field, O’Sullivan improved on his time in the dry FP2, but only managed to put himself sixth quickest overall, behind the JHR Developments duo of Abbi Pulling and James Hedley.

FP1 was disrupted with 10 minutes left on the clock when Reema Juffali had an off at Paddock Hill Bend. The track turned green with five minutes left on the clock and, though the field returned to the track, few found any improvements.

Frederick Lubin was the fastest rookie of the day, putting himself seventh overall ahead of Roman Bilinski and Christian Mansell, who showed good pace in the wet to place third in the earlier session.

Mattias Zagazeta completed the top 10, ahead of championship returnee Roberto Faria and Juffali.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alex Connor Arden 46.099s 64
2 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport 46.120s +0.021s 65
3 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports 46.149s +0.050s 68
4 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments 46.252s +0.153s 63
5 James Hedley JHR Developments 46.260s +0.161s 65
6 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 46.362s +0.263s 62
7 Frederick Lubin Arden 46.463s +0.364s 64
8 Roman Bilinski Arden 46.494s +0.395s 57
9 Christian Mansell Carlin 46.538s +0.439s 61
10 Matias Zagazeta Carlin 46.624s +0.525s 63
11 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports 46.662s +0.563s 63
12 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport 46.708s +0.609s 53