Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Colombo takes pole for final ever Formula Renault Eurocup race

Colombo takes pole for final ever Formula Renault Eurocup race

by Peter Allen

Lorenzo Colombo beat title protagonists Victor Martins and Caio Collet to pole position for Sunday’s final ever Formula Renault Eurocup race at Paul Ricard.

The championship could already be settled in favour of Martins in Saturday’s first race of the weekend, when the ART Grand Prix will secure the title if he finishes in the top six.

A wet track was declared at the start of the qualifying session, although times improved to the point they were only five seconds off the pace set in practice.

Colombo, who took the first Eurocup win for Bhaitech last Sunday at Hockenheim, took top spot away from Collet with six minutes remaining, before Martins went a whole second quicker.

That time from Martins looked like it might hold until Colombo bettered it by 0.18 seconds with his final attempt, a lap of 2m04.066s.

Martins went quickest of all in sector two on his very last effort but could not improve his time.

R-ace GP driver Collet, who must win both races this weekend to stand a chance of winning the title, edged out a late challenge from Arden’s Alex Quinn to take third by 0.012s.

Half a second further back, Franco Colapinto was fifth for MP Motorsport ahead Martins’ team-mates Gregoire Saucy and Paul Aron.

Elias Seppanen qualified a fine 10th in his debut qualifying session in Regional F3-level machinery, two places behind R-ace GP team-mate Michael Belov. Hadrien David was ninth for MP.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 2m04.066s
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 2m04.264s 0.198s
3 Caio Collet R-ace GP 2m04.456s 0.390s
4 Alex Quinn Arden 2m04.468s 0.402s
5 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 2m04.994s 0.928s
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 2m05.057s 0.991s
7 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 2m05.133s 1.067s
8 Michael Belov R-ace GP 2m05.247s 1.181s
9 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 2m05.307s 1.241s
10 Elias Seppanen R-ace GP 2m05.382s 1.316s
11 Ugo de Wilde Arden 2m05.398s 1.332s
12 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 2m05.495s 1.429s
13 David Vidales JD Motorsport 2m05.680s 1.614s
14 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 2m05.960s 1.894s
15 Petr Ptacek MP Motorsport 2m06.169s 2.103s
16 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 2m06.568s 2.502s
17 Reshad de Gerus Arden 2m06.657s 2.591s
18 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 2m07.295s 3.229s
19 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 2m08.480s 4.414s