Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Colombo bounces back with pole for first Imola Eurocup race

Colombo bounces back with pole for first Imola Eurocup race

by Bethonie Waring

Lorenzo Colombo took pole position for the Formula Renault Eurocup’s first Emilia Romagna Grand Prix support race at Imola as championship leader Victor Martins could only manage fifth.

Colombo, who was forced to sit out the last round at Spa in bizarre circumstances, spent the 20-minute session swapping fastest times with Caio Collet and Franco Colapinto.

He was leading the pair in the closing stages of the session when a late improvement from Alex Quinn put the Arden driver on provisional pole.

Colombo found time with his penultimate lap of the session to reclaim the top spot with a 1m40.075s lap, while a wide moment for Colapinto put him on the backfoot.

Nobody could match Colombo’s time on their final laps and the Bhaitech driver, who’s scored just one podium finish so far this season, took pole by 0.034s ahead of Quinn and Collet.

It was a quiet session for Martins who, after topping the lone free practice session, couldn’t quite put a lap together in qualifying. He ended the session fifth quickest, behind Colapinto.

William Alatalo and Hadrien David took sixth and seventh. David Vidales, who won both races at Imola in July on his single-seater debut, was eighth followed by Paul Aron and Gregoire Saucy.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m40.075s
2 Alex Quinn Arden +0.034s
3 Caio Collet R-ace GP +0.147s
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +0.240s
5 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +0.325s
6 William Alatalo JD Motorsport +0.374s
7 Hadrien David MP Motorsport +0.405s
8 David Vidales JD Motorsport +0.408s
9 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix +0.459s
10 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +0.659s
11 Reshad de Gerus Arden +0.698s
12 Michael Belov R-ace GP +0.718s
13 Ugo de Wilde Arden +0.730s
14 Petr Ptacek MP Motorsport +0.983s
15 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech +1.214s
16 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor +1.293s
17 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor +1.465s
18 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech +2.119s
19 Abbi Pulling FA Racing by Manor +3.879s