Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Colapinto tops day one of Formula Renault Eurocup Monza test

Colapinto tops day one of Formula Renault Eurocup Monza test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport Series / DPPI

MP Motorsport’s new signing Franco Colapinto set the pace on the first day of the pre-event Formula Renault Eurocup test at Monza.

The Argentinian was quickest in both of the four-hour sessions, and was one of few drivers to set their best lap in the morning’s running.

He ended the day 0.114 seconds ahead of Renault junior Caio Collet, who will contest his second season in the series with R-ace GP, and 0.154s ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy.

The returning ART team also looked quick with 2019 runner-up Victor Martins, who ended the day fourth fastest.

M2 Competition’s sole entry Mikhael Belov was fifth, while Tijmen van der Helm was another to be stronger in the morning and was sixth fastest overall. The Dutchman was driving for the FA Racing outfit, which is being run by MP Motorsport’s British offshoot Manor Competition this year.

Saucy set the most laps of anyone, while Arden’s Reshad de Gerus only set 15 laps in the second session and ended the day over two seconds off the pace.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m48.274s 60
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m48.388s +0.114s 62
3 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m48.428s +0.154s 93
4 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m48.505s +0.231s 82
5 Mikhael Belov M2 Competition 1m48.631s +0.357s 81
6 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m48.662s +0.388s 68
7 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m48.675s +0.401s 83
8 Joey Alders MP Motorsport 1m48.686s +0.412s 57
9 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m48.686s +0.412s 89
10 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m49.008s +0.734s 76
11 Alex Quinn Arden 1m48.897s +0.623s 63
12 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m49.016s +0.742s 61
13 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m49.076s +0.802s 78
14 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m49.094s +0.820s 58
15 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m49.118s +0.844s 75
16 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m49.312s +1.038s 79
17 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m49.332s +1.058s 70
18 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m50.663s +2.389s 48