Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Clement Novalak and Theo Pourchaire join Carlin for FIA F3 test

Clement Novalak and Theo Pourchaire join Carlin for FIA F3 test

by Ida Wood

CarlinBRDC British Formula 3 champion Clement Novalak and ADAC Formula 4 champion Theo Pourchaire will both join Carlin for this weekend’s post-season FIA F3 Championship test at Valencia.

Novalak, who won this year’s British F3 title with the team at his second attempt, will drive for two of the three days.

The Frenchman also raced with Carlin in British F3 last year, finishing 18th in the standings, and had a similarly disappointing season in Formula Renault Eurocup with Josef Kaufmann Racing.

His car racing debut came at the start of the year in Toyota Racing Series, where he won twice on the way to fifth in the standings with Giles Motorsport.

Sauber junior Pourchaire, 16, prevailed in a thrilling ADAC F4 title fight this year against Red Bull junior Dennis Hauger and Sauber stablemate Arthur Leclerc, and was an overall race-winner as well as Junior champion in last year’s French F4 season.

“I?m so happy to announce that I will be part of the FIA Formula 3 rookie test at Circuit Ricardo Tormo from this Sunday to next Tuesday,” Pourchaire said.

“I will drive the first day with Carlin Racing and the last two days with ART Grand Prix. Big thanks to them for the opportunity.”

Carlin finished ninth out of the 10 teams in the inaugural FIA F3 season, while ART finished third and took a win with Christian Lundgaard. The Sauber Junior Team ran a squad with Charouz Racing System, which struggled but beat Carlin in the standings.

All three teams have already decided their line-ups for next month’s Macau Grand Prix, with Sebastian Fernandez and DTM driver Ferdinand Habsburg joining Lundgaard at ART, and reigning winner Dan Ticktum replacing Teppei Natori alongside championship regulars Felipe Drugovich and Logan Sargeant at Carlin.

Sauber Junior Team by Charouz will field its Formula 2 driver Callum Ilott and Formula Regional European Championship frontrunners Enzo Fittipaldi and David Schumacher.