Home Formula 3GB3 Ciaran Haggerty to race in BRDC F4 as Ecurie Ecosse young driver

Ciaran Haggerty to race in BRDC F4 as Ecurie Ecosse young driver

by Peter Allen
Ciaran Haggerty

Photo: BRDC F4

Scottish driver Ciaran Haggerty will race in the BRDC F4 Championship this year with support from GT squad Ecurie Ecosse.

After winning the Scottish Formula Ford 1600 title last year, Haggerty will compete in BRDC F4 for a team run by Graham Brunton Racing in association with Ecurie Ecosse and their new Young Driver Initiative.

The 18-year-old is mentored by four-time IndyCar champion and triple Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti.

A revival of the successful team founded in 1951, Ecurie Ecosse won the British GT title last year.

“I’m really honoured to be chosen as an Ecurie Ecosse young driver,” said Haggerty, who is joined on the initiative by?Adam MacKay, 17, who was third in Scottish FF1600 last year and will continue in the category.

“To be part of a team with so much history being it is very special. I’m really looking forward to the challenges this year.

“It will be my first year driving with aerodynamics so that is something I will have to get used to, along with left foot braking. Although the BRDC Formula 4 car is an entirely new machine for me I will be working my hardest to fight right at the front.”

Brunton, who also ran Haggerty in FF1600, added: “I am very excited to be taking part in a national racing series again, particularly one as competitive as the BRDC Formula 4 Championship. It is fantastic to be working with and enjoy the support of Ecurie Ecosse and Dario Franchitti, a team and driver with a huge motorsport pedigree.”

2015 BRDC F4 Championship line-up so far
Team Driver
Lanan Racing Jack Bartholomew, Rodrigo Fonseca, Chris Mealin
HHC Motorsport Harrison Newey, Will Palmer, Sisa Ngebulana
Douglas Motorsport Akhil Rabindra, Fernando Urrutia
MGR Motorsport Hernan Fallas
SWR Zubair Hoque, Jordan Albert
Hillspeed Al Faisal Al Zubair, Sebastian Lanzetti, Ameya Vaidyanathan
Chris Dittmann Racing Omar Ismail, Tom Jackson
Mectech Motorsport Connor Jupp
Lang Sport Jack Lang
Ecurie Ecosse/GBR Ciaran Haggarty