Home Formula 3GB3 Christian Mansell on top in wet BRDC British F3 practice at Brands Hatch

Christian Mansell on top in wet BRDC British F3 practice at Brands Hatch

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Christian Mansell topped a wet free practice session at the opening round of the BRDC British Formula 3 season at Brands Hatch.

The Carlin driver finished almost one second clear of fellow Australian Bart Horsten around the circuit’s Grand Prix layout in a session where lap times tumbled throughout.

Chris Dittmann Racing’s Ayrton Simmons set an early benchmark of 1m38.897s, before trading further fastest lap times with Arden’s Frederick Lubin and Hitech GP’s Horsten.

Zak O’Sullivan, who was fastest in both of the official test days, then jumped to the top of timesheets for Carlin before being displaced by Hitech’s Reece Ushijima – the first driver to dip under the 1m35s mark.

Simmons and O’Sullivan both then had brief spells back at the top, before Horsten found half a second to lead the way before a late red flag period, when Hitech’s Sebastian Alvarez stopped at Druids.

Mansell bettered Horsten’s effort when the running resumed with three minutes remaining, and then found a further 0.4s to end the session on top with a time of 1m32.235s.

Fortec Motorsports’ Ollie Bearman was third fastest after moving up the order after the red flag, with Javier Sagrera 0.053s behind in fourth for series debutant Elite Motorsport. Simmons was fifth, ahead of Ushijima and O’Sullivan.  Elite’s Tom Lebbon was eighth, with Lubin and Fortec’s Roberto Faria rounding out the top 10.

Free practice results

Pos Name Team Time
1 Christian Mansell Carlin 1m31.696s
2 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +0.999s
3 Ollie Bearman Fortec Motorsports +1.245s
4 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +1.298s
5 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +1.478s
6 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +1.532s
7 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +1.747s
8 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +2.080s
9 Frederick Lubin Arden +2.165s
10 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +2.187s
11 Alex Connor Arden +2.190s
12 Alex Fores Chris Dittmann Racing +2.208s
13 Bryce Aron Carlin +2.244s
14 Dexter Patterson Douglas Motorsport +2.512s
15 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +3.085s
16 Maz Marzorati Chris Dittmann Racing +3.281s
17 Jorge Garfias Elite Motorsport +3.471s
18 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +4.230s
19 Reema Juffali Douglas Motorsport +5.815s