Home Featured Christian Lundgaard controls Styrian sprint race for first F2 win

Christian Lundgaard controls Styrian sprint race for first F2 win

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard took a dominant maiden Formula 2 win in the reversed grid sprint race at the Styrian Grand Prix.

Renault junior Lundgaard worked his way through the field in Saturday’s rain-soaked feature race before a mistake at Turn 6 blunted a potential podium charge.

He started the sprint race from third on the grid and passed his ART team-mate Marcus Armstrong for second place at Turn 1 on the opening lap.

The virtual safety car was then required after Prema’s feature race victor and points leader Robert Shwartzman spun himself out of the race at the exit of Turn 1.

Lundgaard wasted little time following the race restart, and dived down the inside of polesitter Dan Ticktum at Turn 3 to take the race lead on the second lap after the restart.

FIA Formula 3 graduate Lundgaard fired in two successive fastest laps to build an advantage over DAMS driver Ticktum in excess of the one second needed to escape DRS range.

From then on he maintained a gap of around two seconds to Williams junior Ticktum to claim victory, while Ticktum scooped his second successive sprint race podium.

Armstrong lost third place to fellow Ferrari junior Mick Schumacher just before half distance at Turn 4, but the Prema driver was forced to retire from a potential podium place when his in-car fire extinguisher set off.

This handed Armstrong his first podium since the opening race of the season, with Virtuosi Racing duo Guanyu Zhou and Callum Ilott rounding out the top five.

Campos Racing’s Jack Aitken drove a quiet race to sixth place ahead of series veteran Sean Gelael (DAMS), who just fended off Hitech GP’s Nikita Mazepin.

Jehan Daruvala capped off a disappointing weekend in ninth place, just half a second adrift of scoring his first point of 2020. His Carlin team-mate Yuki Tsunoda, who was pipped to his maiden F2 win by Shwartzman on Saturday, retired from seventh place with a suspected clutch issue early on.

Roy Nissany was the last finisher on the lead lap, but did set the fastest lap of the race for the second time in a row.


Race results (28 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 36m51.582s
2 Dan Ticktum DAMS +2.063s
3 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix +10.226s
4 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi Racing +10.944s
5 Callum Ilott Virtuosi Racing +11.534s
6 Jack Aitken Campos Racin +20.458s
7 Sean Gelael DAMS +22.955s
8 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP +23.632s
9 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +24.180s
10 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP +27.770s
11 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport +28.392s
12 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System +29.247s
13 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport +32.770s
14 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System +34.113s
15 Giualiano Alesi HWA Racelab +41.821s
16 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab +49.240s
17 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing +50.818s
18 Roy Nissany Trident +1m11.311s
Ret Mick Schumacher Prema
Ret Yuki Tsunoda Carlin
Ret Marino Sato Trident
Ret Robert Shwartzman Prema
Fastest lap: Nissany, 1m16.419s

Championship standings
1 Shwartzman 48   2 Ilott 43   3 Lundgaard 43   4 Ticktum 36   5 Armstrong 34   6 Zhou 27   7 Tsunoda 24   8 Drugovich 21   9 Deletraz 18   10 Schumacher 14