Home Featured Charles Milesi wins Monaco Formula Renault Eurocup race two

Charles Milesi wins Monaco Formula Renault Eurocup race two

by Bethonie Waring


Charles Milesi picked up his second win in a week with a lights-to-flag victory in the second Formula Renault Eurocup race at Monaco.

The pole-sitter held onto the lead at the start of the race, but couldn?t pull away from fellow front row starter Alex Peroni. Peroni kept the pressure on Milesi in the opening stages of the race, but eventually fell away from the leader.

Milesi enjoyed a quiet second half of the race, putting in a faultless drive to finish 1.6s ahead of Peroni and climb to third in the standings.

After passing Yifei Ye around the outside at the start, Victor Martins managed to close the gap to Peroni in the closing stages of the race. He finished just behind the race one winner to take his second podium of the weekend.

Third puts him ahead of Lorenzo Colombo in the championship standings. Colombo, who had started fifth, held onto the position after coming under attack from Christian Lundgaard, but came to a stop early in the race. The JD Motorsport driver was forced to retire and is set to drop to seventh in the championship standings.

Ye, who finished fourth, extended his lead at the top of the order by a further two points to Lundgaard, who finished fifth.

Max Defourny picked up sixth, ahead of Neil Verhagen and Max Fewtrell. Logan Sargeant finished ninth but retained third in the championship standings, while?Thomas Maxwell completed the top 10.

Thomas Neubauer, Axel Matus and Christian Hahn came together at the hairpin late in the race. Neubauer and Matus appeared to make contact ahead of Hahn and the Fortec driver had nowhere to go.

The trio were stuck on track as they attempted to point their Formula Renaults back in the right direction. Neubauer and Hahn eventually managed to continue, though Hahn did suffer damage to his front wing, but Matus couldn?t get his Renault started again and suffered his fourth retirement of the season.


Race results (18 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Charles Milesi R-ace GP 27m43.183s
2 Alex Peroni MP Motorsport +1.635s
3 Victor Martins R-ace GP +2.769s
4 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing +4.906s
5 Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport +7.117s
6 Max Defourny MP Motorsport +9.449s
7 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing +13.573s
8 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP +14.963s
9 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP +15.358s
10 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport +16.156s
11 Aleksandr Smolyar Tech 1 Racing +16.662s
12 Oscar Piastri Arden +17.290s
13 Richard Verschoor Josef Kaufmann Racing +20.187s
14 Arthur Rougier Fortec Motorsports +20.992s
15 Aleksandr Vartanyan Arden +23.025s
16 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsports +24.731s
17 Xavier Lloveras AVF +30.388s
18 Eliseo Martinez AVF +36.251s
19 Najiy Razak JD Motorsport +36.501s
20 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing +37.439s
21 Vladimiros Tziortzis Fortec Motorsports +40.269s
22 Clement Novalak Josef Kaufmann Racing +45.457s
23 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing +54.825s
24 Christian Hahn Fortec Motorsports +1m13.341s
25 Christian Munoz AVF +1m13.890s
Ret Axel Matus AVF
Ret Sami Taoufik Arden
Ret Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport
Fastest Lap: Peroni, 1m31.466s

Championship Standings
Ye 112? ?2 Lundgaard 98? ?3 Milesi 82???4 Sargeant 80? ?5 Fewtrell 79? ?6 Martins 76? ?7?Colombo 61? ?8?Peroni 59? ?9 Piastri 30? ?10 Defourny 28