Home Featured Camara gets three wins out of four in penultimate F4 UAE round

Camara gets three wins out of four in penultimate F4 UAE round

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: F4 UAE

Rafael Camara took his third Formula 4 United Arab Emirates victory of the weekend in the final race at Dubai Autodrome, ensuring a clean sweep of victories for Prema.

Camara leapt into the lead at the start from fourth on the reversed grid, thereafter managing the gap to Xcel Motorsport’s Jamie Day to take a comfortable win by 1.821 seconds.

Local driver Day was kept under pressure throughout by Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema driver Conrad Laursen, but the Dane never came close enough to mount a challenge.

The top four positions were unchanged after the initial tour, with James Wharton dropping back to finish almost six seconds adrift of his team-mate in fourth.

PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin put in another strong performance form ninth on the grid, passing Aiden Neate for sixth on lap nine of 13, before claiming fifth from pole-sitter Miron Pingasov at the close.

Neate held off a charging race three winner and title rival Charlie Wurz by just 0.288s at the chequered flag for seventh. Wurz had been the fastest driver on track in the middle stages of the race as he chased after the battling Neate and Bedrin.

The drives of the race came from Tasanapol Intraphuvasak and Valerio Rinicella who both started from the back of the 31-car field after incidents in race three. Each of the MP Motorsports drivers made up 17 places, without the aid of any safety car periods, to finish in 13th and 14th respectively.

Hitech GP’s Luke Browning retired on lap three after a coming-together at turn 12 with 10th place finisher Martinius Stenshorne. The incident will be investigated by the stewards after the race.

Camara’s win puts him up to third in the standings, ahead of Inthraphuvasak, despite having been forced to miss the first round of the championship in Abu Dhabi.

Race results (13 laps)

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Rafael Camara Prema 26m32.958s
2 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +1.821s
3 Conrad Laursen Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +2.364s
4 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +8.087s
5 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +9.008s
6 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +9.593s
7 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +12.193s
8 Charlie Wurz Prema +12.481s
9 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +13.097s
10 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +18.318s
11 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +19.551s
12 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +21.128s
13 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +21.802s
14 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +23.535s
15 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +24.025s
16 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +26.558s
17 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport +26.789s
18 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +29.690s
19 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +30.153s
20 Robert De Haan Pinnacle Motorsport +31.184s
21 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +31.717s
22 Michael Shin JHR Developments +34.135s
23 Ruhaan Alva Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +38.463s
24 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +38.546s
25 Victoria Blokhina 3Y by R-ace GP +38.903s
26 Yash Aradhya Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +41.661s
27 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +42.425s
28 Jef Machiels Pinnacle Motorsport +52.476s
Ret Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport
Ret Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport
Ret Luke Browning Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Camara, 2m01.596s

Championship standings
Wurz 212   2 Neate 167   3 Camara 165   4 Bedrin 147   5 Inthraphuvasak 143   6 Wharton 131   7 Andrea Kimi Antonelli 117   8 Dunne 105   9 Barnard 69   10 Stenshorne 69