Home Formula 4Italian F4 Brandon Maisano tops Italian F4 practice at Mugello

Brandon Maisano tops Italian F4 practice at Mugello

by Aditya Banerjee
Brandon Maisano

Photo: ACI Sport

Frenchman Brandon Maisano was quickest overall over three practice sessions on Friday at the third round of the Italian F4 season at Mugello.

The Prema driver, who currently tops the Trophy class standings for drivers born before 1996, was quickest in the first two sessions, while stablemate Lance Stroll pipped him to the top spot in a wet final session.

Maisano was over six-tenths quicker than the rest of the field in session one, and continued his dominance to go half a second quicker than Stroll in session two.

Mattia Drudi, who took his maiden victory in the previous weekend at Imola, managed to split the Prema duo in the first session. Diegi’s Andrea Russo ended up fourth, with Brazilian Joao Vieira fifth for Antonelli. Russo and Alain Valente, who finished the session in sixth place, were the only drivers to go faster in the first session.

The top ten in the first session was completed by Maltese driver Keith Camilleri, Swiss Edi Haxhiu, Brazilian Gustavo Bandeira and Euronova driver Leonardo Pulcini.

Session two saw Drudi take up the best-of-the-rest third place in the timesheets, ahead of Brazilians Vieira and Bandeira making up the top five. Takashi Kasai, the third Prema driver ended up sixth fastest, with Camilleri, Pulcini and Haxhiu completing the top ten.

The afternoon session saw heavy rain, forcing the drivers to switch to the wet-weather tyres. The session was marred by four red-flagged periods. Ferrari junior and championship leader Stroll went quickest early on and managed to stay on top. Maisano’s considerable mid-session improvement was only enough for second fastest.

Bandeira was over three seconds slower in third, with Drudi ahead of Jenzer drivers Valente and Lucas Mauron in fourth. Russo, Andrea Fontana, Kasai and Trophy class driver Ali Al Khalifa completed the top ten.

Practice results
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2 Session 3
1 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 1:48.422 1:47.962 2:11.490
2 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1:49.172 1:48.462 2:11.162
3 Mattia Drudi F&M 1:49.054 1:48.598 2:15.755
4 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport 1:50.224 1:49.435 No time
5 Gustavo Bandeira DAV Racing 1:50.742 1:49.775 2:14.907
6 Takashi Kasai Prema Powerteam 1:51.757 1:50.046 2:17.756
7 Andrea Russo Diegi Motorsport 1:50.071 1:50.337 2:16.686
8 Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing 1:50.596 1:50.223 2:20.641
9 Leonardo Pulcini Euronova Racing 1:50.782 1:50.281 2:20.265
10 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport 1:50.717 1:50.320 2:21.648
11 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport 1:50.391 1:50.527 2:16.456
12 Bar Baruch Israel F4 by Torino 1:52.185 1:50.609 2:16.585
13 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport 1:51.352 1:50.670 2:16.483
14 Andrea Fontana Euronova Racing 1:50.855 1:50.704 2:17.459
15 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport 1:50.843 1:50.731 2:29.080
16 Mahaveer Raghunathan F&M 1:52.516 1:50.959 2:20.901
17 Zackary Dante Malta Formula Racing 1:52.430 1:51.302 2:20.759
18 Giovanni Altoe F&M 1:52.538 1:51.411 2:24.427
19 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing by Euronova 1:53.080 1:51.633 2:22.028
20 Jonathan Giudice Antonelli Motorsport 1:53.412 1:52.259 2:26.635
21 Ali Al-Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport 1:53.720 1:52.714 2:17.993