Home Formula 4Italian F4 Brandon Maisano clinches first Italian F4 win in Mugello opener

Brandon Maisano clinches first Italian F4 win in Mugello opener

by Peter Allen
Brandon Maisano

Photo: ACI Sport

Brandon Maisano led from start to finish as he secured his first win in the Italian F4 Championship in race one at Mugello.

After starting on pole, the 21-year-old Frenchman claimed victory by just under 2.5 seconds from Prema team-mate Lance Stroll. Stroll’s second place allowed the Ferrari Driver Academy star to collect a full 25 points towards the championship, thus extending his lead.

Leonardo Pulcini lost third place to the fast-starting Joao Vieira off the line but managed to reclaim the place when the Brazilian driver ran wide a few corners later.

Mattia Drudi also found his way back past Vieira and pressured Pulcini until the end, but ultimately had to settle for fourth.

A five-place grid penalty left Andrea Russo starting way back in 15th place but the Diegi driver staged a fine recovery. He got up to ninth on the first lap and then worked his way past Lucas Mauron, Keith Camilleri and Alain Valente to claim sixth, finishing right on Vieira’s tail.

Gustavo Bandeira fell from sixth to 11th on lap one but came back to eighth behind Valente, with Camilleri ninth and Takashi Kasai passing Mauron for tenth.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 17 laps in 31:13.796
2 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam +2.469
3 Leonardo Pulcini Euronova Racing +11.495
4 Mattia Drudi Cram Motorsport +11.797
5 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport +24.350
6 Andrea Russo Diegi Motorsport +24.646
7 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport +27.299
8 Gustavo Bandeira DAV Racing +27.937
9 Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing +31.779
10 Takashi Kasai Prema Powerteam +34.553
11 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport +34.867
12 Andrea Fontana Euronova Racing +39.215
13 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport +41.979
14 Dante Zackary Malta Formula Racing +43.855
15 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing by Euronova +50.744
16 Bar Baruch Israel F4 +53.681
17 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport +54.121
18 Giovanni Altoe Cram Motorsport +1:45.000
19 Mahaveer Raghunathan Cram Motorsport +3 laps
Not classified
Jonathan Giudice Antonelli Motorsport +16 laps
DNS Ali Al Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport +17 laps