Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Bonifacio in control in reverse-grid race at Taupo

Bonifacio in control in reverse-grid race at Taupo

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

With the top four from race one reversed, Bruno Bonifacio got to start race two of the Toyota Racing Series round at Taupo from pole – an opportunity he used the most out of, leading the race lights-to-flag.

It wasn’t a complete field trip for the Brazilian though, as Steijn Schothorst, who occupied the front row alongside him, stayed within a second of him for most of the race, with the two of them finishing far ahead of the rest of the pack.

Lucas Auer led the rest of the pack, overtaking championship rival Nick Cassidy with three laps to go. In fifth, Tatiana Calderon recorded her best finish of the season so far.

Dennis Olsen finished sixth on the road, but was handed a time penalty for false start, which demoted him to tenth. As such, Akash Nandy was promoted to sixth, his best finish in the series so far. Damon Leitch inherited seventh after holding off Felix Serralles for most of the race. The time Serralles lost behind Leitch ended up costing him in the end, as he was passed for eventual eighth by Alex Lynn (whose race was derailed after a spin on lap one).

Spike Goddard and Jann Mardenborough (who was forced to start from the pit lane instead of sixth) got ahead of Tanart Sathienthirakul with a couple of laps to go, claiming 11th and 12th. Michael Scott rounded up the cars on the lead lap, as Pipo Derani and Nicholas Latifi finished a lap down. Andrew Tang, who was set to start from 11th, did not take part in the race.

Race 2 results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap Laps
1 Bruno Bonifacio Giles Motorsport 21m18.832s 15
2 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition +1.116s 15
3 Lucas Auer Giles Motorsport +14.246s 15
4 Nick Cassidy M2 Competition +14.789s 15
5 Tatiana Calderon ETEC Motorsport +15.377s 15
6 Akash Nandy ETEC Motorsport +24.687s 15
7 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +29.439s 15
8 Alex Lynn M2 Competition +29.575s 15
9 Felix Serralles Giles Motorsport +29.976s 15
10 Dennis Olsen M2 Competition +33.070s* 15
11 Spike Goddard M2 Competition +33.297s 15
12 Jann Mardenborough ETEC Motorsport +34.243s 15
13 Tanart Satienthirakul ETEC Motorsport +36.736s 15
14 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +37.166s 15
15 Pipo Derani Giles Motorsport +1 lap 14
16 Nicholas Latifi Giles Motorsport +1 lap 14
DNS Andrew Tang ETEC Motorsport DNS 0

* indicates a post-race time penalty